The Steve McGarrett Story – No #48 (# H50 Epi 3:01)

We continue our story from here

Steve 18

Chin who rushed home to rescue Malia, find her wounded and dying. The paramedics arrive, but can’t save her. Adam arrives in a rubber boat somewhere at sea, just in time to dive down and rescue and revive Kono, who was drowning after she was thrown overboard.

Sorry I know this was a very sad and serious situation, but I could not help thinking when I watched it this time, that Chin should have gone shirtless like Adam did and then maybe that would have revived Malia as well, like Adam managed with Kono. – sorry I couldn’t help myself 😛

We can only imagine what goes through someone’s mind when you see your mother, who you presumed was dead for 20 years, after all this time. The turmoil of emotions, the mixture of joy and anger……….

Steve & Mom 2

 

Doris: I know you have a lot of questions Steve.

Steve: Yeah, why don’t we start with Shelburne.

Doris: Shelburne was the code name the agency gave me.

Steve: I’m sorry. Agency? What agency?

 

Steve & Mom 1

 

Doris: Before I met your father, I worked for an intelligence program that reported directly to the Pentagon.

Steve: You were a spy?

Doris: Yes.

Steve: So all those years that I thought you were a schoolteacher that was just ……..

Doris: It’s a cover

Steve: And were me and Mary just a cover too?

 

Steve 1

 

Doris: Shelburne was way before you and Mary.

Steve: How did you meet Wo Fat’s father?

Doris: He was an assignment.

Steve: So you were ordered to kill him?

Doris: It was a little more complicated than that.

Steve: Well we got some time, so why don’t you, why don’t you uncomplicate it?

 

Steve 5

 

Doris: Okay. Like you, I served my country. But after I got married, I left the agency because I wanted to be a mother. Unfortunately, I could change my name, but…… not my past.

Steve: That’s why you pretended to be dead?

Doris: When I made that choice, I knew my life would never be the same. I knew that I would have to give up the only thing that meant anything to me. My family.

Steve: So why did you do it Doris? If that’s even your real name.

Doris: It was the name I was born with, and that I went back to the day I met your father. And since when does a son call his mother by her first name?

Steve: Since she failed to be one 20 years ago.

Doris: I didn’t see any other options, Steve. Wo Fat was looking for the person who murdered his father and he was willing to kill anyone who stood in his way.

Steve: So you faked your own death?!

 

Steve 14

 

Doris: Yeah, I did what I had to do to protect my family.

Steve: Dad sent us away thinking he had to protect us. Then spent the next 20 years looking for your killer. All that  was for nothing.

Doris: If I told him the truth Wo Fat would have executed him.

Steve: Wo Fat executed him anyway!

Doris: You and Mary, you … God knows, you deserved better. I just didn’t know what else to do Steve. I … but never once did I spend a day not thinking about you.

Steve: Is that supposed to make me feel better?

Doris: It’s the truth.

Steve: What am I supposed to do with that truth, huh? I just forgive you now, is that it? We move on?

Doris: No, I just ….. I just like you to understand. I like you to just ….. try to understand.

Steve: Pack a bag.

Doris: Pack? What do you mean? Where are we going?

Steve: We’re going home.

 

Every time I watch this scene, I am amazed at the subtle faces Alex displays in this short time, to show us Steve’s journey of emotions when he sees his mother and confront her with the pain she caused them.

Steve and Doris fly back to Hawaii and is met at the airport by Danny and half of HPD, bringing the bad news that Wo Fat escaped. And also giving the bad news about Malia’s death.

Steve 25

Just an observation, but Steve looks pretty rested for a man who just flew the 6600km (9 hour) flight to see his mother for the first time in 20 years and then fly that distance back again from Japan, all in one day. 😀

Steve calls Catherine, who is on leave to come and keep his mother company, while she is in a safe house guarded by SWAT.

Following the leads in the case, Chin and Kono figure out that Delano was the one who helped Wo Fat escape. What they don’t know is why? They follow Delano’s trail and realise that his whole plan of blowing up HPD, was to get access and rob it. There are millions worth of drugs in lock-up and Delano and his team, steals it.

The Five-0’s arrive just too late to stop them, but they catch up with them as they are held-up in traffic because of an accident. During the shoot-out that follows, Delano tries to get away, but Chin follows him. He catches up with Delano just as his ammo runs out, and Chin shoots and kills an “unarmed” Delano at close range.

Chin -

And suddenly the sun is setting and it seems that police no longer provide assistance to someone who is wounded, as poor old Toothpick is just left to die from Kono’s bullets. BUT he is still nice enough to tell them that Wo Fat is going after Shelburne ….. What a nice perp!

Steve calls Cath to tell her that Wo Fat is on his way to them. She takes Doris upstairs and gives her a gun. While Cath fights with one of Wo Fat’s men outside, he goes upstairs to find Doris and they meet face to face, each with a gun drawn on the other. Three shots are fired, but when Cath gets upstairs, Doris is okay and Wo Fat gone through the window…….

Steve sends Doris away again for her safety ……. her plane leaves just as Danny arrives to tell him that Doris fired 3 shots in the floor and not at Wo Fat and Steve can’t confront her about why she did not shoot to kill.

Steve and Danny wonder why Doris let Wo Fat get away and deliberately missed him.

For the life of me, I do not understand why none of them wonders why Wo Fat, who came after Shelburne and has been hunting the ‘ghost’ that killed his father for so many years, did not try to shoot Doris at all. That would have been my first question. It is not as if he has never killed before. 😀

 

Steve 37

– Hawaii Five-0: Episode 301 –

La O Na Makuahine (Mother’s Day)

Broadcast:  24 Sept 2012

To be continued here

9 Comments

Filed under Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett

9 responses to “The Steve McGarrett Story – No #48 (# H50 Epi 3:01)

  1. gracenotpark

    McG with McDoris was just awesome. 🙂 Sadly this was also the ep with The Claw, which I think lost Show about a million viewers in one fell swoop… 😦

    Like

    • Strangely enough, “The Claw” did not bug me that much. I have seen worst in other bog action movies and shows – for me it comes with the terretory of the genre of action TV.
      What actually do get to me and make me a bit mad (or is it sad), is timeline improbabilities like Adam saving Kono.
      There is just now way that he could have gotten a call after Chin left Delano on his way to save Malia, for Adam to get in his car, drive to get a boat, go out at sea, find Kono somewhere in the middle of the ocean. dive down, and save her (and added to that – without Toothpic seeing him) – sorry, there is just no way!!!!
      And the sad thing is, that just by using a few words in the dialogue, it could have been more believable……… 😦

      Like

  2. I loved the actors interaction during the scenes between Steve and Doris. They were fantastic. But once again the script wasn’t great enough and they missed the chance to go deeper with the feelings between the two characters. I would like to watch Steve asking his mother if she knew that he was tortured by Wo Fat, because of Sherburne. I would like to watch Doris struggling with her feelings between family and duty/job.
    What’s the point to hire terrific actors and then they write them so superficially, if they are part of story arc of the show? I’m sorry but i don’t understand. I know you will answer me that they need time to the “claw” scene (= it was ridiculous and time wasted).

    Like

    • I agree with you – they had Christine and she did a terrific job with the little they gave her (and Alex). BUT there were a lot of wasted opportunities. Things that land n the editing bin, because it takes away from the action………

      Like

  3. Alex was incredible in these scenes. He is very expressive, I guess thats what makes him such a great actor. ♥

    Like

  4. buttercup4u

    I loved the scene in the house with Cath! It was beautifully done!

    Like

  5. Oh I loved the scene with Steve and his ‘mom’ in the beginning. He was so good at conveying the range of emotions Steve was going through. Alex made me hate Doris with all my heart. And later, despite his anger and disappointment and all his turmoil of emotions he showed us that there still was a little bit love left! That was incredibly well acted.
    I remember Christine Lahti complimenting his acting abilities, that she just had to look at his face, in his eyes to get the vibes and emotions!
    So I really didn’t care about the stupid claw, hubby loved the claw BTW, men are different… lol….

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.