#AlexOLoughlin in American Way Magazine: Getting Back Up – April 2010

A couple of canceled TV series aren’t slowing Aussie expat Alex O’Loughlin down.

He stars in this month’s The Backup Plan, and soon, he’ll return to the small screen in a familiar role.

American Way

by Allison Winn Scotch

[dl] Movies [Down Low]

April 2010


STEP ASIDE, HUGH JACKMAN: AUSTRALIA’S HOTTEST NEW EXPORT HAS ARRIVED.

In truth, Alex O’Loughlin, 33, landed on U.S. shores a few years back, when he headlined the popular, albeit short-lived, television series Moonlight. More recently, he starred in the medical drama Three Rivers, which suffered a similar gone-too-soon fate.

But this month, he’s poised to break out opposite Jennifer Lopez in The Back-up Plan, a crowd-pleaser about a woman who takes pregnancy into her own hands only to then meet the love of her life.

Next up, he’ll return to TV as Detective Steve McGarrett in the much-hyped reboot of Hawaii Five-O.

We chatted with the Aussie about his career, his fans, and what it’s really like working with the woman formerly known as J.Lo.

tbup stan

AW: So you land your first major movie role, and it’s opposite Jennifer Lopez. Any first-day on-set jitters?

Alex: No, working with Jennifer was great. Most of the time I just forgot that I was working with J.Lo.

tbup kiss

AW: Do you call her J.Lo?

Alex: I call her Jen. But I also call her — I don’t know how she feels about this, because she would usually look at me sideways — but I call her J. from the B.

AW: As in, Jenny from the Block?

Alex: Yes, but J. from the B. I mix it up a little bit. [Laughs.]

But she’s a pro, and you forget that you are working with a big star. My favorite films are the ones where everyone gets together and it’s a real collaboration with no attitudes or divas, and that’s exactly what this was.

tbup taxi

AW: This seems like a perfect date-night movie. Do you have anything to say to sway the men out there to see it?

Alex: I really love comedies like The Hangover, and when I read the [Back-up Plan] script, it became clear that this is sort of a brave new comedy.

It’s slightly naughty and raunchy, with humor on a base level — which tells you about my level of intellect! The film has a really good balance: not too lovey-dovey, but the romance in there is based in real drama.

tbup smile 3

AW: Though it only lasted a season, your show Moonlight developed a cult following. Can you tell when something will resonate with an audience?

Alex: I have a really poor meter for that stuff. I wish I knew, because then I would sign on to the correct projects.

Moonlight should have died a lot earlier than it did, but we got a huge fan base, and people still are like, “Make the movie. Do another season!”

Whereas with Three Rivers, I still don’t understand what happened. We had great actors, great guest actors, great scripts and it was something that hadn’t been done on TV before.

tbup bed

AW: You’re headed back to TV with a remake of Hawaii Five-O. What drew you to the project?

Alex: It was a lengthy negotiation process. It was important to me that the integrity of the original show be maintained. I’m excited about the creative team behind the project, and I think it’s going to be a fresh and fun revamp of the show.

tbup wow

AW: Do you keep in touch with your fans through Twitter or Facebook?

Alex: When does anyone find the time to tweet? I can barely open my mail. I have to pay someone to help me open my mail. As sad as that may be, it’s the truth.

And what would I say? Hey, just letting you know I am going to get a coffee?

tbup plaid

AW: In the spirit of your new movie, do you have a back-up plan should the acting thing not work out?

Alex: No, this is it, dude. That’s kind of scary in a way. But there’s a saying: “Hollywood eats the weak.” And I’m still here, baby.

tbup grin

My Thoughts

Just a reminder that apart from the one official Facebook page run by his publicist none of the other pages one Twitter, Facebook of Instagram belong to Alex!!

It is really sad that so many people open these fake accounts – scammers and so called fans who try to fool others with their “Official” acounts. But worst of all, it is sad that these imposters get support from fans who should know better, but who follow them anyway! This way many innocent uninformed fans are fooled by it, because they are not clued up enough to know that they are being scammed. 😡

Please rethink your choices of following & supporting accounts who act like, or claim that they are Alex, by not clearly stating that they are just fan-accounts. And make your fellow fans aware that they are following fakes who act as if they are Alex.

Magazine Scan

11 Comments

Filed under Hawaii Five-0, Interviews, Stan "the Man", Steve McGarrett

11 responses to “#AlexOLoughlin in American Way Magazine: Getting Back Up – April 2010

  1. vanduyn

    Totally agree about the Alex impostors! That really makes me angry. People new to Alex have no idea and think this is really Alex. Excellent post!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Kath40

    I remember back in the day when Alex had a MySpace page. It was fun hearing form him from time to time as he navigated through his newly found fandom. But shortly after Moonlight was canceled and Tree Rivers was up and running things changed. MySpace was loosing out to Facebook and the site soon was abandoned by many including Alex. Even though MySpace was revamped many of us never returned. Alex’s page only now has his picture and his posts are now gone. 😦

    Like

  3. I LOVED Alex’s My Space page He posted a lot of my comments it was fun and FAR less impersonal than Facebook
    Thanks for the warning about the Phonies Only ALEX is Alex and he says he does NOT do public media

    Like

  4. Kath40

    I remember the last few days Alex was active on MySpace. We would see his light come on showing he was logged in. Even if he didn’t post anything it was a thrill knowing he was on at that very moment. 😀 He was trying to load a music player to his page and it was giving him fits and messing up the layout. He moved it around for a bit, but I think he got frustrated and just gave up on it. That was the last activity I remember seeing before MySpace wiped everything and forced everyone to start over. 😦

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.