CBS – Three Rivers: #AlexOLoughlin Set Interview (2009)

We end our week of focussing on organ donation and organ transplantation and Alex’s role as Dr Andy Yablonski, on Three Rivers, with this short behind the scenes interview with Alex.

Transcript of a video

[Clip from Three Rivers]

3 r 3 cl 3

Alex: I play Andy Yablonski, who is a staff surgeon at the Three Rivers hospital.

It’s new to me; I’ve never played a doctor before. And so I studied a lot at the Cleveland clinic, to get as much information as I could.

3 r 3 bw 3

Alex: My character is based on an actual surgeon who we all know as Gonzo. And this guy to me, is like a rock star.

I don’t know if he’s the youngest surgeon there, but he is certainly at the younger end of the surgeons there.

And he is extremely good at what he does.

3 r 2 cl 4

Alex: Gonzo introduced me to the operating rooms. And the environment and the atmosphere. And so the first thing I saw was a patient that was prepped … cause once the patient is prepped you don’t see their face or the rest of their body.

You just see the open cavity and all the organs. We walked in and we were talking about something, and he went, “By the way, look at that.”

And I was, “Oh my god”

3 r 2 cl 5

Alex: I think the thing that I did … that most stood out to me, was absolute honestly in interaction with humans that you have to have.

Because every patient that you have to deal with, you have to talk to, person to person, with nothing else there. You have to be so clear and honest.

3 r 3 cl 2

Alex: It was an incredible experience. It was one of the best experiences of my life.

I mean these people are some of the best in the world. The opportunity to play a character like that, it was amazing. It was amazing.

3 r 2 cl 6

Video:

6 Comments

Filed under Dr Andy, fixing hearts, Interviews, Three Rivers, Transcript

6 responses to “CBS – Three Rivers: #AlexOLoughlin Set Interview (2009)

  1. Audrey

    Three Rivers was very close to my heart, as my daughter would have had to have a kidney transplant. Knowing the process of someone dying for someone else to live had such meaning to me.
    The one I remember her best was the athlete who needed a new heart and the woman who was reluctant to give her daughter’s heart to him was very poignant. The best part was when she said, “can I hear my baby’s heart beat”. Such a moving story, as they all were.
    I loved Three Rivers. Alex’s played Dr. Andy perfectly, he was so believable I cried in every episode. Well done Alex.

    Like

  2. I agree with Audrey, Alex portrayed Dr. Andy perfectly. Thank you for this week’s look at 3Rs, an often overlooked role in Alex’s career.

    Like

    • I agree with Audrey and Janno. I loved Three Rivers and think it had an important and moving message as well as the Worlds most gorgeous compassionate doctor.I truly “Lost” my heart to “Dr Andy”

      Like

  3. Kath40

    Alex’s compassion made him the best choice to play Dr. Andy.♥ He may of had his doubt’s he could pull it off in the beginning, but he’s a quick study and as Gonzo said ” he’s a Human Sponge he absorbs everything.” 😀
    Alex can bring any character he’s presented with to life with his own God given talent. The man is amazing.
    Thanks for these beautiful pics of our beautiful Alex/Andy Paula. ♥
    It’s a difficult task, but someone has got to do it. LOL 😉 ((HUGS))

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.