Daily Archives: April 16, 2015

Gif for the day – Steve happily chewing gum

pilot-del-smile-dl

I couldn’t give a f**k about the procedurals. I mean sometimes I can, and sometimes it’s really interesting. Sometimes, it’s great fun. But if I wanted to do “CSI,” I would have done “CSI.” It’s not what this show is. This show is a character driven drama, that has a procedural element, and is based in a genre. That’s what the show is. It’s a character driven drama. The procedural element is great fun when it’s used correctly, but when it’s overused, it turns into something else.

I think it’s really disappointing from a fan point of view when people get lazy and they know that that’s going to work and that it’s going to require less effort and they just sort of go with that. I think what the guys have done with Moonlight has been great. I think they’ve really put a big effort into balance it all out. We’ve had some great procedural stuff and some really interesting cases, and as we’re moving on, we’re getting into the characters more and more, and we’re caring about these characters more and more, and we’re learning more and more about the mythology and getting deeper into the actual genre and the blood and guts of it, pardon the pun. So I’m really happy with the way it’s shaping up.

– Alex O’Loughlin, Daemon TV, 24 November 2007

I know that the two shows can’t be compared at all (genre wise, and with the number of episodes), but the question is, can this be said of Hawaii Five-0? Or did the opposite happen and we started out with great characters, that we lost along the way?

9 Comments

Filed under Beauty perfected, Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett