On working with fellow Aussie Alex O’Loughlin

It looks like Claire might once again be around on the Hawaii Five-0 set, since her character Rachel returned in Episode 5:24 with some shocking news. Lets hope that that plotline will not be dropped or lost for too long, as have happened to some others in the past. For me Rachel is a big part of who Danny is and with her around his character is more rounded and complete …. 😀

This is an old article where she shared some information about her friendship with Alex….

110 cl 3

Boom Times

with Richard Clune

Sydney Times

2 December 2010

110 bw 1

One of the country’s most exciting talents (and the best name in the business), Claire van der Boom appreciates the position she is in. Back in Australia for a short break before returning to Hawaii to shoot further episodes of network blockbuster Hawaii Five-0, van der Boom said she had carved a “privileged” niche, in being able to float work in America and here (she recently shot local productions of Sisters of War, feature Red Hill and one of Nine’s Underbelly films)

110 bw 2

“I’m very very lucky – to have the opportunities I have been getting in America, but also to come back here, to Australia, a place I love to work. Best of all it means I haven’t been typecast and you cannot ask more than that”

Her work in the aforementioned Stateside series – in which she plays Danno’s (Scott Caan) former wife  – has van der Boom working with fellow Aussie Alex O’Loughlin.

110 cl 1

“I thought Al was responsible for my casting, but when I got there I walked on set and he was like, “Boom, what the hell are you doing here?”.

It’s great to work with him as we are really close. I’ve known Al for 10 years. He was one of the first people I met when I landed in Sydney, this wide-eyed girl from Perth.

I remember it was outside an ice-cream shop in Coogee, and he rolled up on his motorbike, it was sort of a pick-up. Ha, it makes me laugh remembering that”

110 cl 2

 Scan: Sydney Times

Sydney Times - 5 December 2010

7 Comments

Filed under articles, Hawaii Five-0, Interviews

7 responses to “On working with fellow Aussie Alex O’Loughlin

  1. Love her I think she should be on more

    Like

  2. brendaattheranch

    Rachel WAS a good character up until 524. To me, what they did with her character in that episode made it impossible for her to be a viable part of the show. Before she was just flawed like her ex. But with 524 they made her explicitly mean for no comprehensible reason and there’s nothing they can do to explain it away or redeem her. It’s too bad. And really, the show has suffered no loss with Rachel out of the picture and Danny raising Grace, nor will it suffer a loss with him raising Junior if that’s what it comes to.

    Like

  3. vanduyn

    I would like to see more of Rachel on 5-0. I know she did Danny wrong but I honestly think they belong together. And I HATE hearing Alex being referred to as Al. I know other people do it but having an Alexander myself, I will never accept that as a nickname. Awesome post!! 😀

    Like

    • alexnymph

      I totally agree with you, on both accounts. The first time I heard that Alex’s nickname is “Al” I thought “yuck!” and “Uncle Al, the kiddies’ pal” popped into my head–old pervert is what that sounds like, not our young virile specimen of manliness.

      Like

  4. Gail Lessard

    Agreed, don’t like Al as a nickname. But I guess that’s up to him. He’ll always be Alex to me!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.