Daily Archives: October 3, 2013

When I became background extra on #H50

Many of us dream of visiting Hawaii one day, some dream of attending SOTB, others dream of being on the set of Hawaii Five-0, but most of us dream of actually seeing Alex face to face and even exchanging a few words with him, while getting our picture taken. Some of us get those dreams realised and even experience them all…….

Manu, who traveled all the way from the UK to Hawaii, shared some of the many experiences she had this past week in Hawaii, with us. Although most of us will be extremely jealous of her good fortune 😀 , we enjoy whenever one of the H5-0 ‘Viewer-Ohana’ and Alex fangirls get to be so lucky to get up close and personal with THE MAN!!

Here is what Manu wrote to us about her experience the morning after SOTB4:

The morning of Sept 27th started very early for me and my roomies Lydia and Viv. Lydia was informed that they were shooting at the airport so we decided to give it a go, not really knowing what to expect. We desperately needed a shower since the full day before we had been on the beach for SOTB4 but that was over and done in about 15 mins, not even McGarrett could get ready so fast.

So we got there and we were just in time (and lucky enough) to be included in the group of people that would be background extras. I kinda thought I would wake up soon enough, what? me being an extra on my favourite show? It could only be a dream right? Anyways our “handler” said it clear “Ladies behave because we have big guys ready to tackle you if you don’t” and I’m thinking “What is he on about?” but when I realized WHO was on set that day the penny dropped, he obviously meant “Don’t jump on Alex” (as if…oh well…the thought did cross my mind…)
It was early morning the day after SOTB so I don’t know how he managed it but Alex looked as gorgeous as ever. The highlight of my day was when he actually looked at us and said “Good morning”. My heart skipped a beat and the only thing I could manage was the stupidest star struck smile and a breathless “Hi”.

I can’t tell about the scene we filmed but the most difficult thing was trying not to look at HIM (and Chi who was there too). Having Alex a couple of meters away and act like he wasn’t there went against my natural instinct, my neck wanted to turn, my eyes couldn’t stop following HIM and my heart wouldn’t stop racing every time I caught a glimpse of him. Some of you might like to know what he was wearing.Unfortunately my brain can’t remember many details but I think light-ish pants and a darker t-shirt, plus kevlar (oh yes baby) and he had a big gun that he kept teasing his co-star with. It was amazing to witness the change between cheery joking off camera Alex and the professional actor as soon as he turned into McGarrett mode.

Unfortunately we didn’t get to talk to him and were dismissed before he finished shooting but the experience was very interesting and exciting. Hopefully I’ll catch a glimpse of myself and my roomies when the episode airs.

Thank you Manu for sharing this lovely account of your day on the set……….

Here are some behind the scenes pictures taken during the week before SOTB, and as far as we know that is from the same episode (4:08), Manu will be an extra in:

So keep an eye out for Manu and her roomies during this episode…….. 😀

25 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett