Hawaii Five-0 Hunk #AlexOLoughlin Turns Up The Heat On Oahu

Stunning pictures ……..

A road less traveled.

Take a trip off the beaten path with Hawaii Five-0 hunk Alex O’Loughlin, who Watch! photographed for the June 2017 issue at the beautiful Kuaola Ranch on Oahu.

From riding motorcycles to wrangling horses, the handsome Hawaii Five-0 star packs plenty of heat in this sexy photo shoot, while taking us on journey into the heart of Hawaii. Check out these gorgeous photos, including bonus, never-seen-before images exclusive to CBS .com. Discover more about Alex O’Loughlin and his deep love for this enchanting archipelago in the tidbits below and in this exclusive interview.

New beginnings

When offered the Hawaii Five-0 gig, Alex O’Loughlin felt both excitement and fear. Moving 2,500 miles for a show was daunting—but Hawaii worked her magic

Aloha, Alex!

“People say these islands either embrace you or push you away. I found myself, as a gift from the islands, being blessed in and given a Hawaiian name. I found all sorts of things drawing me in deeper and deeper.” Alex O’Loughlin

Hawaiian nomad

Thankfully for Hawaii Five-0 fans everywhere, Alex O’Loughlin said yes to Steve McGarrett. He stayed on Waikiki Beach the first month of filming.

Local flavor

With a full first season to shoot, Alex started to learn the local rhythms from friends and longtime Oahu residents like his fellow cast member Daniel Dae Kim.

Spiritual connection

“I don’t know what’s out there, I don’t know whether there’s a God or whether there’s lots of gods or whether there’s just universal energy, but I know from what’s happened that there’s something bigger than me.” Alex O’Loughlin

Hang ten

Alex took up surfing, and later met his future wife, Hawaiian surfer and model Malia Jones.

Home sweet home

He also rebuilt a mid-century home in Diamond Head to call his own.

Meant to be

“The majority of my important memories are now Hawaiian. You’ve just got to look around… watch the waves in winter here. There’s something bigger than me in the world… that source or whatever that is had something to do with this whole journey, because now it all makes sense.”Alex O’Loughlin

Action misadventures

In the first few seasons of the show, Alex elected to do most of his own stunts. But injuries took their toll and after a serious back injury, the star decided to leave them to the stunt professionals.

Character study

While he steps aside for the stunt work, he studies up on his character every chance he gets.

Linked in

“This has been a master class for me. I can definitely drop into McGarrett’s head space anytime. I have a bible of who he is in my soul, in my mind.”Alex O’Loughlin

Long run

Fun fact: Hawaii Five-0 seasons are a whopping 25 episodes each. This season, Alex O’Loughlin and team celebrated Episode 150.

Basic training

“I’ve had the great fortune of being exposed to a lot of Navy SEALs who’ve helped me with the character… being like them requires a specific sort of energy, and I have to manufacture that. At the end of the day it’s like, ‘Keep calm and have another cold one.'” Alex O’Loughlin

Hawaiian punch

Alex O’Loughlin has been deeply touched and inspired by island life and all its beauty—so much so that he never wants to leave. We don’t blame him.

Photography by Nino Muñoz. Styled by Lily Unkhoff. Originally published in Watch!Magazine, June 2017.

28 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, articles, Interviews

28 responses to “Hawaii Five-0 Hunk #AlexOLoughlin Turns Up The Heat On Oahu

  1. Dq

    Just got a copy today at Barnes and Noble. Worth the wait. Very yummy. Not a big fan of the grey slacks, but with that face, who cares. In fact, maybe he shouldn’t have worn the slacks at all.

    Like

  2. Ontlls

    Living in Canada. I might find a copy at the Magazine shop, but for now, thanks to all Twitter fans, I have read the article!!

    Like

  3. We waited for a long time for a new photo shoot but it was definitely worth it 🙂 Thank you for sharing both article and pics

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathysr

      Oh my gosh, the photos are stunning, thank you FOYeur! My Barnes and Noble still had the April 2017 WATCH issue on the stand, so I have to go back. Otherwise I’ll just write directly to CBS and order it through the mail.

      There’s our gorgeous Mountain Man in all his glory!!

      Like

  4. Lulu

    Since the Barnes & Noble store near me doesn’t have the new issue, I am loving this post of this beautiful man. He is so photogenic. I can hardly wait to get the magazine.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Magnólia

    Belas fotos🎻
    A n°1 e a n°13 são as minhas capas❣🎶

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue

    Wonder if the photographer had Alex remove his wedding ring, for the pictures. You can see the ring impression, on his hand.. Do hope that the series goes on, beyond next year. I have a blown disc, in the lower lumbar region, and can empathize with Alex, on the pain that it causes.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. DoubleL

    The pictures are gorgeous, but I have to laugh a little at the “styling.” Wool blankets and layers in Hawaii! LOL! 😉 Guess they didn’t want to go with the obvious beachy look. I’ve had no luck finding a print copy, but it’s still early I guess. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • kathysr

      Also, not one single picture of Alex smiling? Really? Come on! The clothing is pretty funny for Hawaii, but not for a mountain man!

      Like

      • Dq

        I agree. Nothing better than a smiling Alex. I would have thought the article was an interview more so than a fashion shoot. If it was an interview, then it was a disservice to him to either cover up or photoshop his tattoos and wedding band. It is who he is and he isn’t ashamed of either the tats or his marriage. The fans know who he is and we approve of it all. So, why the cover up?

        Like

    • I feel Alex is a story teller at heart and that is why he chose the career as actor. I think he had loads of fun doing this shoot, being something a bit different to daily life. Something of the old-school Alex. Not being Steve and not being Alex the family man – but being Alex the story teller.
      Not wearing clothes either Steve or Alex would normally wear. Telling a story of a man travelling to distant lands and exploring with his, horse and his bike, taking pictures and writing down his adventures of his exploration at the campfire.
      It would have been boring (not that anything with Alex can really be boring to us), to just see plenty of pictures of Alex sitting around on the beach in Hawaii. We have seen that done that.
      This for me this shows that there is plenty of layers and stories in this man still to be told. A man of adventure and style.

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Wow, so glad to see Alex modeling again. Just awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Carol

    Like 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Carol

    Like 😎

    Like

  11. Beautiful!! My watch magazine is wonderful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I am completely in love with the pic #12. This dark brown leather jacket together with these plaid slacks and brown shoes is totally awesome, stylish. I can really see Alex wearing this. But this whole shoot is special, so different, and I love it.
    I wish they hadn’t covered his nipple tattoos. A shame.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Sunflower

    This man does not need any props to pose with. He could just stand there and be gorgeous all on his own. It makes me happy to see him wearing his wedding ring so I wonder why he is not wearing it for this shoot.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. karen

    like the last sentence in the article. His entire journey thru life led him to where he is now. After almost 10 years I still love this man.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. KarenJ

    Hi FOYeur, from the UK I thank you so much for these gorgeous pictures of Alex, love them all. I won’t be able to get a paper version, but I can always revisit them here all the time! 😎

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Attention. I am going to make everybody so jealous here.
    You know what makes this photoshoot so so special?
    Because he is holding a leica in his hands.
    Just saying.
    Teehee.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Surprisingly i don’t love all the pics, but some are my new favorite. TY for posting it.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. wini potter

    he is one delicious man good enough to eat

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.