#TBT – More Bites for #AlexOLoughlin – May 2008

This post covers some of the events surrounding the cancellation of Moonlight back in May 2008

This as a small little newspaper article I found in my old files.

These days we rarely post pictures of Alex and his old girlfriends, but it was part of his life after all.

And he looked so differently sexy for me in these pictures with Holly, taken back in December 2006 in Austalia.

Alex & Holly – Dec 2006

Herald Sun

16 May 2008

Aussie actor Alex O’Loughlin dealt with the news that he was out of a job in the best possible way – he went on holiday to Mexico with his glamorous girlfriend, Holly Valance.

The pair left Los Angeles yesterday for a two-week getaway, following the axing of his US vampire show, Moonlight. Issues behind the scenes and flagging ratings were cited as possible reasons for the decision.

O’Loughlin’s agent, Nathan Morris of June Cann Management, is confident he will not be unemployed for long.

Morris said starring in a popular series such as Moonlight had put O’Loughlin in good stead for landing more high profile parts.

“He has got a raft of things to read through, a role like this has definitely opened plenty of doors,” he said. “The key is to strike while the iron is hot”.

Scan:

And this was the media report of the cancellation then:

E! News

Exclusive: 

Moonlight Producers Confirm Cancellation

May. 13, 2008

This just might be the most depressing news yet coming out of the New York upfronts.

I’ve just received word from Gabrielle Stanton and Harry Werksman, bosses of Moonlight, that the series has been canceled.

They sent me this message to pass along to you fans:

It’s true. We found out about an hour ago that Moonlight has been officially canceled.

We are truly saddened by the news and are sorry that we won’t get the chance to live with our wonderful characters and follow them on their adventures for a second season.

We really want to thank all our loyal fans for their undying love and support of the show.  We never would have made it this far without them.

In vampire solidarity…rah, rah!

Gabrielle Stanton & Harry Werksman

This series has one of the most dedicated, passionate audiences I’ve ever seen in the many years in this job. And to all of you I extend a heartfelt hug.

Feel free to group-hug it out and express your disappointment at CBS below…

 

Pictures of Alex at the TV Guide Sexiest Party on 1 May 2008

It always breaks my heart to read this message from Alex.

MySpace Post:

May 14, 2008

Family and Friends

Dear Friends, Family and wonderful, wonderful Fans of MOONLIGHT.

Well, where to start….?
The decision to cancel MOONLIGHT… my MOONLIGHT… our MOONLIGHT, is as much of a shock and gut wrenching surprise to me as it is to all of you.

Really, I don’t even know where to begin.

I sit here at my computer, still slack jawed even 24 hours after receiving the news that my services are no longer required on the set of this show. A show we have all come to know and love deeply, and it hurts more than I can possibly tell you.

Since i got THE CALL I have not read anything online or otherwise, I have not been following blogs or forums, I have not been reading the trades or opinion polls and I have not been calling around to get information.
“Why are you not fighting for your show?!” I hear you all scream!!
The truth is my friends, I never STOPPED fighting for it.
From the very beginning when I was told time and again that i wasn’t the man for the job, having to prove myself to everyone with tests and screen tests, to a complete re-casting of the show, through 5 different show runners at the helm with 5 different artistic visions, to a Writer’s strike that took 5 episodes away from us…… oh how the list goes on.

But through all of that, i am proud to say that not once did I bow down and allow someone else to come in and do with MOONLIGHT as they please. And along the way, if I needed a break and wanted to do that, I don’t think I could have anyway because, well, I suppose it’s just not in my nature! 😉
This is all still so fresh for me and I am going to need a little time to process this whole thing before i can digest what has actually happened, let alone move on.

Honestly. I really feel lost for words.

I will say however, that never, never in my life have I experienced first hand a level of support from a group of people like that of you all who are reading this now, and who ‘loved this show to life’ alongside me. It has been overwhelming to say the least.

I am grateful to you all. I am extremely proud to be associated with this piece of television.
And I am so, so sorry to my very core, to lose MOONLIGHT.

All my love,

Alex O’Loughlin x

 

11 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, articles

11 responses to “#TBT – More Bites for #AlexOLoughlin – May 2008

  1. There will NEVER be another show like MOONLIGHT or a vampire as “REAL’ as Mick St John I still miss it, the characters and the stars that portrayed them. I did however find a group of friends who loved the show as much as I did and we have all become like family thanks to the incredible Alex!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Cassiopea 1000

    Someone very, very intelligent should explain WHY Moonlight was cancelled. It had everything to be remembered as one of the greatest TV shows ever! it was original (never had a vampire been so humane and endearing before), it had action scenes for those who like lively scenes, it had drama and romance for the more romantic ones, it had well written and interesting stories, the cast was excellent, and Alex was… Well, Alex was brilliant (and so incredibly hot and handsome) in every scene he was in. So writers strike or not, why????

    I can well imagine how devastated Alex must have felt when he was given the news.

    Well, I can always indulge in a DVD Moonlight mini-marathon on a rainy weekend. Mick and a box of chocolates can cure it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Moonlight was the only show that I watched over and over again at least ten times. I loved all the quotes,. The way it was written . Mick’s fireplace and bookshelves . I loved the noir style , and the fluer de lis. I loved the characters and really loved the way Alex played Mick St. John, hot ,mysterious , with a huge human heart. I was devastated when it was over. i cried for weeks. I can’t begin to imagine how Alex felt,. Thanks for the memories,

    Liked by 1 person

  4. amytemple9815

    I just finished streaming Moonlight. Very first time I had ever seen it. Was instantly hooked! A really, really good show! Plan on buying the DVR set. 😁😁👍👍

    Liked by 2 people

  5. CassG

    I hadn’t a clue about Alex when Moonlight was on so I never watched it. After H50 came on and I found out that he was one and the same I couldn’t get the DVD set fast enough!!😍😍😍 A real treasure.😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cassiopea 1000

    No, it is not a rhetorical question and in fact, you are the very, very intelligent person I am relying on to get a satisfactory answer 😜😜😜! I am sure others will be interested too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not so sure I am that intelligent person who could answer it. And of course, I was not a fan back then and all I know come from the interviews and reports about that time.
      I think in the end there were a couple of factors that contributed to the cancelation of the show.
      1) I think one of the most important reasons was the fact that CBS did not own the show. They did not want to bet on something over which they did not have full control.
      2) I guess during negotiations, Joel Silver and CBS could not come to an agreement on terms for the show to continue.
      3) Alex’s popularity tested higher than that of the show. I guess they felt that they did not want to continue with something that mainly relied on the main star to survive. Alex had a strong following of very dedicated fans – but in the greater scheme of things, there were not vast numbers of those followers, for the show to count on to survive. In my opinion, those numbers of fans would have gone up exponentially once the show was marketed overseas and had that chance to run for a second season in the USA.
      4) With all the different showrunners already, in such a short period of the show, I think they felt that the odds might be against the show to last.

      As you can see, I do not actually list the writers’ strike at all. I think that, and the loss of some episodes during the 1st season, contributed some, but in the end, Moonlight kept good numbers and a good demographic following even after the strike ended.

      Like

      • Cassiopea 1000

        Thanks for explaining, FOYeur. I understand better now. Not that it makes me feel better. It is a pity Joel Silver and CBS could not come to an agreement. There was money to be made with that show, especially if they had distributed it on an international basis. On the other hand, it’s true that Alex carried the weight of the show on his shoulders and was its main asset. But the same has happened with H50 and it had lasted for 10 seasons.

        Never mind. Moonlight is past history and we must turn our minds to Alex’s future projects. Hopefully, after having rested for more weeks than he ever could hope for, he is in a frenzied creative mood and concocting something good for us fans to sink our teeth into.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.