3 things you didn’t know about ‘Five-0’ favorite Alex O’Loughlin – 2011

By now we know so much more about Alex and many things in his life changed since those early days, but it is always interesting to see what made news in those first months of Hawaii Five-0 ….

Alex O’Loughlin, 34, the star of TV’s new hit show Hawaii Five-0, already has made a home for himself on the island state. It reminds him of his home country, Australia.

USA Weekend

17 February 2011

Written by: BRIAN TRUITT

s 1 fishing mcg promo

“The beaches are more like Australian beaches than on the mainland, and people are very laid-back and cool and relaxed,” says O’Loughlin, who has a teenage son, Saxon, back home.

He spills on some of his favorite things:

  • Cooking.

He cooks for company, and “people politely eat my food.” But when he’s alone, “I eat out more, just because it’s easy and you can do it pretty inexpensively.”

My Thoughts: With a bigger family that include a wife and small kids, I think eating at home might be a lot easier these days.

take out frenzy

  • Surfing.

He has learned how; the trick is when. “It’s dark when I leave and when I get home. I dream about the next wave I catch.”

My Thoughts: I think over the years his time for surfing most probably got a lot less.

  • Working out.

That is something he has to find time for, because his shirt’s off a good bit during every episode as super-cop Steve McGarrett. He works out in his trailer, “where no one is. You feel like a bit of a jerk, doing push-ups and pull-ups in front of everyone.”

My Thoughts: I always laugh whenever I see comments about Alex taking his shirt of in every episode – especially in Season 5 when we only saw him with his shirt of twice in 25 episodes, and in the one it was for torture 😦 Perceptions can be really deceiving.

Alex O'Loughlin

9 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Hawaii Five-0, Interviews

9 responses to “3 things you didn’t know about ‘Five-0’ favorite Alex O’Loughlin – 2011

  1. Leah

    Love the funny gif of him stuffing his face with the take out fast food noodles – too cute! 🙂 Looks like he really was having fun. And yes, they “tortured” us in season 5 by giving us so little of shirtless Alex!

    Like

  2. Kath40

    I love how humble Alex is,,,“people politely eat my food.” I’m sure it’s tastier then he gives himself credit for. 😉 He works out in his trailer, “where no one is. You feel like a bit of a jerk, doing push-ups and pull-ups in front of everyone.” Alex a “jerk?” NEVER. He takes great care of himself and we love to admire his hard work. ♥ It’s also nice to know Alex is still giving surfing a good go even if he doesn’t think he’s very good at it. He’s got one up on everyone else; The man is married to a pro surfer…his live in instructor…we know he’ll keep improving with his tenacity. 😀 ♥

    Like

    • Hi Kath
      I know I can be a pain in the ass about facts sometimes, but just a small fact that is normally incorrectly written in articles. Malia was never a pro-surfer, She was an amateur champion but never went pro. She did however travel with the pro-surfers, as she was married to one.
      In the early years we saw Alex with surfboards and even saw pictures with him and fellow surfer fans – but not lately. It is also hardly mentioned in interviews anymore.
      I think his life these days are just to full to find time for surfing. It seems like he got more involved with Jiu Jitsu that with surfing.

      Like

      • Kath40

        Oops…My bad, I thought she had gone pro after winning that championship title.
        Still I’m sure she can teach Alex a few tricks when he finds time to paddle out there and catch some waves.
        Hey, I’m an 8 year in-depth-study of Alex not so much a study of Malia. Though I’d better brush up on our mans woman so as not to embarrass my self with mixed up facts. 😉
        Now ask me something about Alex and I’ll pass with flying colors. 😀 LOL

        Like

        • Not to worry, it is not really that important and you did not embarrass yourself.
          I just thought I would mention it here, as I have seen it written in many places (and I also thought it was fact, in the beginning).
          There is actually a video interview where Malia herself said that she prefered to go into modeling and other stuff , while she travelled, than to be occupied and only focussed on competing professionally.

          Like

  3. Gail Lessard

    Not sure what he means by tourists being less cool. Kind of a throw away comment that could have been explained better. In the context of the article it sounds like he is happy to take pics with locals but not tourists. Maybe rude tourists? But what did they do to make him feel this way? Hawaii thrives on tourism. We can’t all be lucky enough to live there.

    Like

    • Hi Gail
      Sorry, but I do not see anything in this article about taking pics with locals or tourists? I therefore do not know how to respond to your comment?

      Like

  4. Patricia Chow

    I’m recording all of Hawaii Five – O Love him in these episodes, good looking and a good actor, can’t get enough of him !….. Patricia…..

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.