Alex O’Loughlin: “O’Laughlin remains realistic about career” – 2010

Before we move on to this post – one of my pet peeve. People  using the surname “O’Laughlin” for Alex as in this original newspaper article and other media articles and fan posts on social media. Most people really do not like it when people use their names incorrectly. Alex chose the name O’Loughlin as his professional name and I think he might prefer it, if people use it like that ……. 😕
KEVIN WILLIAMSON, QMI AGENCY

 Alex O’Loughlin is booked, Danno! After two prematurely cancelled television series – Moonlight and Three Rivers –  and years of supporting roles, the 33-year-old Australian has no shortage of work as a leading man.

He stars opposite Jennifer Lopez in the romantic comedy The Backup Plan. And he’s already spent weeks filming CBS’s remake of the 1970s cop show Hawaii Five-O, in which he stars as Steve McGarrett, the steely-cool detective portrayed by Jack Lord in the 1968-80 original.

“I’m allowed to say like three things about the show,” O’Loughlin says, having just flown in from Hawaii to Beverly Hills for interviews. “Being accepted and loved to the point by you guys that I’m allowed to step into someone like Jack Lord’s shoes to play someone like Steve McGarrett is massive for me. It’s not lost on me, the significance of that … It’s the biggest pilot CBS has ever shot, I believe. It’s the biggest pilot I’ve ever shot.

I’ve been getting thrown out of tanks and beaten around the island of Oahu for a couple of weeks. I’m very, very excited about it. I hope all the fans really enjoy what we’ve done.”

Last Scene 16

But O’Loughlin is also realistic — and experienced — enough to keep his expectations in check.

I’ve had so many rejections over the years, I just go, ‘Oh, whatever.’ People go, ‘Oh my God, The Back-up Plan you’re on the billboard with Jennifer Lopez!’ And I’m like, ‘Yeah. It’s fantastic. But what are you saying?’ And they go, ‘Oh this is going to make you a big star!’ But brother, you don’t know what’s going to happen. I could end up unemployed.

I started at the bottom. I was washing dishes at this tiny restaurant, getting yelled at by the old Italian owner, to pay for the classes I was taking at night, learning how a camera worked and how to break down a script. That was a long time ago.

From there, it was a general progression. I became an extra, a background artist. I did a couple commercials as a background artist, then a couple commercials as a lead – so I worked my way up. But I’m glad I did it that way because I have an appreciation for what I have.”

O’Loughlin first came to attention of North American audiences on The Shield. From there, he went on to the short-lived vampire series Moonlight which, probably to its detriment, preceded Twilight.

“It’s still a bit of a heart break, that show. Three Rivers is a heartbreak, too,” he says, referring to this past fall’s medical drama, “but for different reasons. I put a lot into (Moonlight). It was very difficult. We lost our first three show runners; we had four different people running the show. And we had a writer’s strike, so we lost five episodes … Maybe we would’ve had a smoother ride or still been on the air after someone else had started the reignition of that genre.”

Of course, O’Loughlin always had this in his favour: In Hollywood, Australians are nearly as popular as vampires

“I’ve always been asked the question, ‘What is it with Australian men?’ It’s weird because most of my friends here are American men. I’ve been here for a while now, and most of them, I don’t see them any differently from me.

But I think there are cultural differences. It’s a really American thing to wax your chest. As a man, it’s like, ‘Get rid of that unsightly hair.’ In Australia, it’s like, ‘Mate, what are you doing? Why would you do that? Doesn’t that hurt?’ “

Last scene 15

 

16 Comments

Filed under Interviews, Stan "the Man"

16 responses to “Alex O’Loughlin: “O’Laughlin remains realistic about career” – 2010

  1. Manu

    And it’s all the hard work he’s put in his career that has finally paid off 🙂
    Combined with his talent of course!
    Well deserved Alex!
    OK, i’m in a gushy mood today…

    Like

  2. Gail Lessard

    I like the hairy chests better than the waxed smooth ones. So I’m happy that culturally it’s what he prefers!

    Like

  3. gracenotpark

    Totally with y’all on the spelling thing…and while we’re at it, it grates when folks pronounce it wrong too, like Pauly Shore did recently in that podcast. Alex is a pro, with a successful and respectable career. You wanna interview him or write about him? Have the courtesy to spell and say his name correctly. How hard can that be? Google him and his IMDB page shows up…it’s all right there!

    Like

    • What you said!!!!

      Like

    • I have seen the miss spelling mostly with Hawaiian publications – don’t know why they do it? 😦
      I can understand when people with foreign accent find it difficult to pronounce his name and maybe get it wrong – but as you say, when you do and interview – at least get it right.

      Like

  4. He has the right amount of chest hair! He’s a real man. Manscaping’s for boys! You go mate!

    Like

  5. vanduyn

    Love this post!! The pics are great too! Thanks girlies♥

    Like

  6. Leah

    Yep! Our man is a REAL man with his chest hair! 😉 Love his smile in the big pic where he’s looking straight into the camera! 🙂

    Like

  7. Sue

    Wonder how his passport reads. Is he now, legally, O”Loughlin?

    Like

  8. Kargo

    What is his original last name? Why did he change it? Thanks for the great photos.

    Like

    • Alex started his acting career at NIDA and with his first few projects as Alex O’Lachlan. After Oyster Farmer he changed it and started to use the name Alex O’Loughlin as his professional name. At the time he siad he did it in honour of his Grandfather – how I donlt know (and I guess also because of pronunciation)
      He has never shared any other information about his name officially, If it was different originally, I guess it is something he does not want to share with the general public. And I would prefer no speculations on it here, on open forum either.
      Glad you also enjoyed the pictures 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.