Daily Archives: March 2, 2015

#AlexOLoughlin – List his 10 favourite Romantic Comedies – June 2010

Madison Magazine Australia

June 2010

 Madison 1

We asked smouldering 33-year-old Canberra native Alex O’Loughlin – who’s sparring with Jennifer Lopez in current film release The Back-Up Plan – to tell us about his five favourite romantic comedies of all time.

Instead he gave us a list of 10. Who knew he was such a softie?

Madison 2010

1. Punch-Drunk Love (2002): PT Anderson is one of my favourite filmmakers, and Adam Sandler’s performance should have earned him an Oscar nomination. It’s an astute observation of the fragility of people in love.

2. Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961): The perfect romantic comedy and Audrey Hepburn is one of the most beautiful women that has ever lived.

3. The 40 Year Old Virgin (2005): The waxing scene is hilarious, and apparently it actually happened … which makes it even funnier.

4 Wall-E (2008): I’m still confused as to how an animated robot made me feel so much love and compassion.

5. The Princess Bride (1987): This is a classic film for my generation. Who doesn’t love it?

Madison June 2010

6. Big (1988): Tom Hanks made me wonder what it would be like to make out with one of my teachers.

7. As Good As It Gets (1997): Jack Nicholson is completely charming and believable. Greg Kinnear’s breakout performance blew me away.

8. LA Story (1991): So rarely do I see LA as a romantic setting where people fall in love and live happily ever after. This movie changed it.

9. Notting Hill (1999): I love this film because of Rhys Ifans’ performance.

10: Frankie & Johnny (1991): As played by Al Pacino and Michelle Pfeiffer. Enough said.

Pictures from the Carlotta Moye photoshoot were used for this article and for the next issue of Madison as well. Above is some of those pictures that Paula doodled over the years.

Magazine Scan

Madison Magazine (AU) June 2010

My thoughts

  • I have definitely seen The Back-up Plan more times than any other romantic comedy. 😀
  • Must confess that there are a few of the movies that he named, that I have not seen yet.
  • At least 3 of them, I can also name as some of my all time favourites – not only as rom-coms, but as movies.
  • Interesting that Alex at that stage chose a movie (Big) that featured 2 actors in it, that would later be guest stars opposite him in Hawaii Five-0. One is, Robert Loggia, in Episode 1:07  and the other, Jon Lovitz,  in last Friday’s episode.
  • And of course Mandy Patinkin, who featured in The Princess Bride, also starred opposite Alex in my favourite Three Rivers, Episodes 7.

PS-CM-dl-window

8 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Interviews