Alex O’Loughlin in agony …………………or is it ecstasy?

I suppose you can consider the way I work or elements of the way I work and approach character as method. I absolutely throw myself into every role and try to live and breathe each character I play.

— Alex O’Loughlin, Live Chat with Alex,1 October 2009

I have never been to acting school and don’t know how they teach actors to portray moments of excruciating pain and moments of extreme pleasure. But the words of the song from the popular British Rock band ‘Queen’ comes to mind,when I think about it. Here are the word from the cores:

Let the sweetness on love wipe the tears from your face
Ooh, ooh, pain is so close to pleasure, I told you so,
Sunshine and rainy weather go hand in hand together all your life,
Pain is so close to pleasure, yeah, yeah,
Sunshine and rainy weather go hand in hand together all your life,
All your life,
Pain – pleasure.

Maybe it is the closeness of the two experiences of pain and pleasure, that makes it so easy for it to look similar. I sometimes cry when I am extremely happy. And who of you haven’t ever started laughing after you hit your toe on something? It is truly a weird reaction of human nature.

Let’s take a closer look at Alex and you can decide what you see……

Moonlight – Dr Feelgood

mick-pain2

mick-pain5

mick-pain1

Moonlight – Fever

Moonlight – Fated to Pretend

Mary Bryant

will-pleasure1will-pleasure2

There is a lot of fans that say the “O” in O’Loughlin, isn’t there for nothing because Alex knows how to do the “O” faces pretty well.

This is an invitation to all of you to share your thoughts on his agony and ecstacy. And also to give us some reminders of where we can find some more of these ….. faces.

It’s quite disturbing, especially when you watch it back and you go, ‘Oh, that’s what I look like!’

— Alex O’Loughlin, Filmink, June 2005

38 Comments

Filed under Intense Research Reports

38 responses to “Alex O’Loughlin in agony …………………or is it ecstasy?

  1. ‘O’ I don’t know…I think he looks pretty tasty when he makes that face…..

    Like

  2. Khyanna

    Damn what a post… 😛

    Like

  3. He is just a great actor that’s all I have to say

    Like

  4. Liana

    Oh my God. He’s simply…oh my God

    Like

  5. vanduyn

    Excellent post!! 😛

    Like

  6. LaHagela (The Tinkler)

    I can’t pick which I like better…..the long lashes or the “O” faces…….oy.

    Like

  7. Oooooh my, thinking of a fun game to play with him 😉 Maybe I shouldn’t have read 50 SOG so many times. To see his face and hear those moans he makes under the control of my touch….*quiver*…Ooooooo….yesssss…*full body, fall off the bed, O’gasm*

    Like

  8. foy.eur ) you little racsal.. the Mary Bryant movie is when they consummate there marrage. Since Alex is playing a slave I’m assuming this is his first s/xual encounter. His mind is racing in agony because he never felt these feeling before. This lead to extreme pleasure. The BIG O.

    Like

    • FOYeur

      Oh E, You haven’t seen Mary Bryant yet?
      They are not slaves, but convicts from England, sent to Australia to start the colony there as part of there sentence.
      Will Bryant was no innocent…..he was a fisherman & a smuggler.
      Without giving away to much of the story -This was make-up and celebrations sex…..
      BUT, please don’t expect much of the sex-scenes of the show.
      It is very short and nearly not existant…..but it is BEAUTIFUL

      Like

      • Sorry FOYeur I’m aware of the convicts colony, but in USA they were indenture slave. They had to work off covicted time, and concede free and owning land. This was the first time the had sex, since marrage. The Big O

        Like

        • FOYeur

          If you take it like that, then they were definitely slaves.
          At this specific scene that Paula posted here, they had been married for about 3 yrs and already had a child together…..

          Like

  9. sorry hit the wrong button….Moonlight Fated to Pretend.. Josef turned Mick back to a vimpire. The look on Mick face being turn back leaving the control (Josef ) with pleasure and Mick with pain. The Big O for both. Moonlight Fever.. Mick in the sun for a long period must
    have blood to bring his body back. Beth found him, and gave him her blood. Beth have agony with (pain) Mick has ecstasy which brings him back to life (pleasure) Both BIG O.
    Moonlight …Dr. Feelgood Ecstasy Real BIG O.
    Check out Steve torture by WF and Mum torturing agent H50.
    Mick having the glass taken out of his leg..Moonlight

    Like

  10. Originally object of our otherworldly obsession.
    Online ohana openly opines over org@sms.

    Like

  11. Melissa

    oooooohhhhhhh!!!!! *0* *0* *0* *0* *0*
    after this i cant remember where else i see this fu*k-faces! 😛
    looking into it to give some other points of reference 😉

    Like

  12. What’s he saying? “I’ve never been to acting school.” His bio shows a BA from the National Instituteof Dramatic Arts in Sydney as of 2002!

    Like

    • FOYeur

      Lee Ann, Please read the story again….
      I am writing the story, it is not Alex.writing it….
      I am saying, I have never been to acting school.. 🙂

      Like

    • FOYeur

      And Lee Ann you are 100% correct by saying that he did receive his BA from NIDA after he studied there for 3yrs from 2000 to 2002.

      Like

  13. I see my little blue monster is back…it must be your post FOYeur. A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. His neck in that third pic…good lord…I could lick and kiss that neck all day and all night long and never get tired!!
    And my hair colour is very similar to Josef’s and Mary’s so I’m going to pretend that I’m the one responsible for those faces!!!
    My delusional mind is my favorite place to visit…I come there often!!!

    Like

    • FOYeur

      😆
      CG, I do not understand the little blue monster…..weird?!
      I am sure most of our post help you get there quickly…..it works for me 😛

      Like

  14. BlueEyedMonster

    This is the face I want to see above me, under me, next to me. You get the idea.

    Like

  15. Pingback: Alex´s inviting mouth | Alex O´Loughlin ~ An Intense Study

  16. Kathy I LIKE the way you think !!!

    Like

  17. Lee Ann

    WHY did Alex say “he’d never been to acting school” when in 2002 he completed a 3 yr program at National Institute of Dramatic Arts?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.