Daily Archives: January 6, 2016

Alex O’Loughlin Is A Proud Sleep-Deprived Papa – November 2012

Alex on ET Canada

– Transcript and report of an interview done at the press day on

10 November 2012,

two weeks after the birth of his son Lion

Report written: By Sarah Koo

(26 November 2012)

 

Alex: Why do people say congratulations when you have a child? It’s awful. I mean, you don’t sleep, you’re covered in vomit and poop all the time.

While the Hawaii Five-0 star is cool and collected as Steve McGarrett on the show, in real-life he’s feeling the fatigue courtesy of the new addition to the familyLion.

No doubt the name “Lion O’Loughlin’s” got ring to it, and the proud papa fills us in on the inspiration behind his and mama Malia Jones’ unique choice.

209-sleepless-mcg

Reporter: Yes, the joys of parenthood. Scott [oops, I am sure he meant Alex] and his girlfriend Malia Jones welcomed a baby boy last month and for strategic reasons, they named him Lion.

Alex: My first son, his name is Saxon. So I kind of like to give my children names where they can’t just go on welfare comfortably, you know. The welfare people will be like, Lion O’Loughlin? Dude, I’m not …… you can’t  …. you gotta go run a country or something, you know. At least run a television network station.

That makes perfect sense, doesn’t it? Alex questions his own train of thought, explaining how four weeks with a newborn can affect one’s mind.  he says. The star claims he changed Lion’s “first 60 diapers. In the hospital, I was the diaper man!”

209-tired-mcg-2

Reporter: In the mean time though, Lion is busy keeping his dad awake at night.

Alex: Am I making sense? I have a new-born, I’m not sleeping much. I hope I’m articulating what I’m thinking.

Reporter: Alex’s co-star Scott Caan thinks he’s doing a great job keeping it all together.

Scott: I think he’s better doing that than I would be.

Reporter: Scott and Alex recently took their onscreen friendship a little bit further with this cuddling scene. [laughs]

Alex: We cuddle a lot, frankly. Scott and I …. Scott and I cuddle a lot and we just happened to cuddle on camera.

Scott: It was just a little moment we tried. I did not know if they were going to use it or not. I’m glad they used it. That’s funny.

Alex: I’m comfortable with Scott on my shoulder, bowl of popcorn, watching ‘The Note Book’. Pretty much. That’s a weekend ‘in’ for me.

 

209-tired-mcg

But Alex wouldn’t ever trade his “daddy duties. After-all, they’re nothing compared to “mommy duties”: “If men had to have babies, there would be zero population on this planet… We can’t take that kind of pain!”

Link to video

4 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Family, Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett