Daily Archives: February 5, 2015

Insider With #AlexOLoughlin, On The Set Of Hawaii Five-0 – September 2011

This interview was done in September 2011, the week before SOTB 2 and while they were filming Episode 2:06

Brooke: The Insider is exclusive on the set, where Hawaii Five-0 has taken over this mansion for a high-octane home invasion scene.

Alex & Brooke Anderson - September 2011

Brooke: How fun is it to run around with the gun and the holster and to get to do things like that?

Alex: It’s pretty…… I really enjoy it. I mean they’re props essentially at the end of the day, but they’re kind of fun props. And they make big sounds; you know… it’s kind of. It’s real boy stuff, you know.

We start when we’re little bubs, we start doing Cops and Robbers, ‘Cowboys and Indians, you know. And you know it’s really just a big expensive version of that.

We’re playing Cops and Robbers‘, but here is a M4 fully loaded and a really cool sidearm, that you can shoot at everyone.

206-cargos

Brooke: And do what you will.

Alex: And try to just pretend like it’s real …. And so we do.

Brooke: Takes you back to your childhood in a way, huh?

Alex: Yeah.

Brooke: What happened to your shoulder? You do some of your own stunts and you got beat up?

Alex: Yeah, the thing is I’m sort of …. I’m not as hard as Steve McGarrett. You know, I’m a little softer. I play a really tough guy and it hurts, daily.

Brooke: Standing pretty close to you, you’re not soft.

Alex: [Smelling under his arm] Oh I thought you were ……

Smelling

[Brooke laughs]

Alex: Not soft?

Brooke: No you said you’re softer than McGarrett. You don’t look soft.

Alex: He’s a pretty tough guy though. He does like all this, you know, jumps out of everything. And so I go, “Yeah I can do that. And on the other side like ouch.

Brook: Why did I do that?

206-boxing hit

My Thoughts

  • As far as I know, there was another longer version of this part of the interview with Alex, but I can’t find it online anymore. Does anybody know where we can find it? If I remember correctly, in it Alex talks about going home every day and soaking in a bath filled with ice to help get rid of his aches and pains.
  • On the one hand it is sad that during this interview Alex talks about his body being bruised and that he struggles with the shoulder injury he got nearly a year before, but yet he had to be part of this fight in Episode 2:06, filmed that next week. And he also had to endure filming the scenes for Episode 2:10, a month later. Irresponsible actions by all involved, maybe?

206-db-fight

Link to Interview

(On this clip, you will see that she interviewed the other cast members as well )

9 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Hawaii Five-0, Interviews, Steve McGarrett