#AlexOLoughlin – #H50 #Watch! – Transcript of Interview

CBS Watch! Magazine posted a short clip of part of the interview they did with Alex O’Loughlin for their next two monthly issue of the magazine for June/July 2017.

Although I am excited and very grateful that they posted it, why they have to post regionally restricted clips of an interview is beyond me. Alex is an internationally known actor with many fans from around the world. This is not just about the show. It is about Alex.

Sorry for the rant, but here is a transcript of it.

Watch Magazine

How Hawaii Inspires H50’s Alex O’Loughlin

Alex:

The inspiration that Hawaii provides for me?

Well this has been my home for about 7 years now. And I’m married to a local girl, I got local kids. I’m blessed in. I’ve got a name∗. It’s deeply entrenched in … in who I am now. You know, I don’t think I’m ever going to leave.

( Alex’s local name is Kekau)

Saxon, Spike, Alex and Malia at a birthday party for Egan’s son, back in May 2013.

I mean obviously it’s beautiful. Like you look around and it is like, “Wow it’s really beautiful!” But there’s … there’s an energy in the land here; they actually have a name for it. It’s calledMana”. And it’s like the power of the Aina”; of the land.

And I don’t always feel it. Or I’m not always aware of it, because I get very busy 10 months of the year, frantically shooting, and trying to remember things. And trying not to get caught up in politics, you know.

But then when I stop, mainly in the off seasons, I can go somewhere quiet, like this, and sort of tap back into it. And that’s what inspires me out here.

It’s … This place is very special. It’s a very special part of the world.

Link to the interview:

31 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Family, News Updates, Transcript

31 responses to “#AlexOLoughlin – #H50 #Watch! – Transcript of Interview

  1. cathy

    c’est très cool de retranscrire l’interview afin de permettre la traduction si on ne parle pas bien l’anglais. Thank you very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a pleasure. It is one of the main reasons why I do the transcripts.
      And also it is sometimes difficult to hear what he says at the end of sentences and you only really pick up what is said after listening a few times.

      Like

      • Sabine Giessler

        I also, I am german and sometimes he speaks so fast, so I can’t understand what he says 😐

        It looks like he’s a real normal person and a great actor. It’s a pity, here in germany we get no or only little information or something else 😣

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, there are very little about him in normal media – in all the countries. But if you look around, there is a lot to be found about him on the internet and social media.
          We try are best to not only get all new information about him, but also to fill our blog with any old information about him as well. So this is actually a one stop shop to learn most of what is available about Alex and his career. 🙂

          Like

  2. Transcription really appreciated, FOYeur! It’s good to see Alex so relaxed and at peace. I like the pic too. Saxon does look like his dad!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, we have never shared this picture before because we regarded it as a private picture. But I guess if Watch! is using it in their video, Alex gave it to them and that is why we posted it now.
      Yes, I think Saxon is a fair combination between his mom and dad.

      Like

  3. He runs!
    He rides!
    He rides again!
    He talks aussie!
    He respects!
    He loves!
    He kills me.

    Does anyone know what Kekau means? I looked it up and just found something like ‘summer season’ or ‘the mine’. 😉 Or is it just a translation for ‘Alex’?

    Liked by 2 people

    • I would like to know as well. The source of course is Alex himself – maybe he made a typing error and got the spelling wrong that way. LOL
      I doubt if it is just a translation for Alex, because he always mentions it with being blessed in into the Islands – and that normally goes together with getting a Hawaiian name that the Kahuna get for you. Something that “explains” or suits you or decribes you as he sees you.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Looked it up.
      Alex or Alexander = Alika in Hawaiian

      Liked by 1 person

    • He kills me too, and many others who read this blog too, I’d say. In fact, he’s a serial killer! Adorable and irresistible but lethal.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Lulu

    What a great interview! He is always so honest and open. And, he looks so fine. By the way, Barnes & Noble bookstore sells the Watch magazine. I’m not sure what date it is coming out, but I will keep checking.

    Like

    • I think there will be a lot of people sharing the news as soon as it becomes available. We expect it somewhere around the middle of this month, but it might be earlier.

      Like

      • Kimberly Husselbaugh

        There was a story about the interview on Hawaii News Now.com…..hubs heard about it on the radio on the way to work this morning ;-D

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I found Kikau:
    To give freely; to bestow upon others with good will.
    Ke just means ‘the’ and kau has several meanings. I.e. a star in the northern sky. And the middle finger (lol!).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the interview. As really nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for the transcript. We’ve been waiting a long time for a new in-depth interview and this looks like it might be it!! I get the hard copy of WATCH, and I’m hoping it will be here soon! Glad to know it’s sold at B & N, so many fans from other countries might be able to order it from them.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sonja

    Thanx so much for the transcript! It’s very appreciated! You know we not-native-speaker have sometimes trouble to wholly understand what’s being said. This little sneak peek shows us again why we love this man so much … he’s down to earth, honest and … sooo gorgeous 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  9. DoubleL

    Thanks for the transcript. Now I know what the Hawaiian words are! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nancy13

    Hi,
    I thought I read somewhere awhile ago that his Hawaiian name means “to settle”, or “one who settles”. Maybe because Alex has settled in Hawaii with a home, dog, & family.
    Nancy13

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Nancy
      Over the years I have seen a few people trying to maybe guess or explain the name. Not sure if any of them really knew what the wording. It seems as if the Hawaiian lauguage is not always clear, and that there are room of interpretation on what a word actually means.
      Would love to have Alex explain the meaning of it himself – it will kind of clear up the speculation.

      Like

  11. Oh how I love how down to earth Alex is ♥ I’m so happy for him that he has settled in to this life in paradise with his wife and kids.

    I’m checking my mail box every day with excitement waiting to get my hands on this WATCH magazine. A new “Alex” photoshoot has been a long time coming and I can’t wait. I hope he is on the cover as well. ♥ 😀

    Thanks ladies for the video link and the delicious gifs. 😛
    Every time I see Alex riding a horse I can imagine him in a Movie Western playing a good guy or a bad guy. It doesn’t much matter he rides so well I’d buy a ticket just to see him ride across the BIG screen. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  12. DoubleL

    Wasn’t this photo shoot done around February or March? Riding a horse is about the last thing a person with a back injury would want to do. So he must have been feeling MUCH better to do it for these pictures.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Ladies, pls note I have an unsolvable technical problem & I can’t “Like” comments,tho I love so many of them. No indifference from my part.

    Like

    • I heard somebody say that you have to list with WordPress to be able to like posts. Not sure if it is true, because I have been listed with WordPress since I started commenting on sites. And we only resently started using the like feature on the site again.
      Maybe it is because you comment via twitter. I am not sure. Maybe somebody else can shed light on it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

