#AlexOLoughlin : Mary Bryant was a wonderful learning experience

“That was a wonderful learning experience. It was a tough shoot, mate: four months on the water, with children, in the Australian sun, in convict boats, and wearing convict clothes. We pulled out all the stops. It was wonderful being part of something that actually happened.

I tried to do a huge amount of research on my character, Will Bryant, but I hardly got anywhere with it, because there’s very little information about him out there.

My main concern was that I was representing someone who was a real person, and I wanted to bring a voice and a heart and a brain to him. Not too many people in America have seen that show.”

– Alex O’Loughlin

(Talking about his award nominated role in Mary Bryant)

Starlog

March 2008

mb-promo-2

mb-promo-6

Alex, once again showing his dedication to the character he portrayed here ……..

14 Comments

Filed under Mary Bryant

14 responses to “#AlexOLoughlin : Mary Bryant was a wonderful learning experience

  1. Karen

    I really enjoyed his performance in that movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lulu

    Another great performance by Alex! He becomes the character he’s playing every time. Now I’m going to have to watch this again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree! He’d give life to a rock if he wished. God, how I long to see him in an Oscar winning role! What are they in Hollywood waiting for?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just hope ‘Hollywood’ and some great director will grab Alex the minute H5-0 ends. As long as the show continues, there will be no chance of that.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Kathysr

          Me, too!!! Everyone else is working on multiple projects, but Alex, because he’s the heart and soul of the show, the leader, and he has to be there more than anyone else, hasn’t had the chance to do other projects. It’s frustrates me. I hope that Season Eight is his last and that we’ll get to see him on the big screen again. I hope that a lot of A list directors will want to cast him in a major motion picture.

          There’s fan art on one of Scott’s fan Twitter accounts which imagines the entire 5-O cast in “The Untouchables,” circa 1930’s. The artwork is absolutely gorgeous, with everyone all dressed up in suits from the 1930’s. You know, on STAR TREK, they did an episode where the crew jumps through a time portal to save McCoy, and they end up in the 1930’s depression in the USA. It’s one of the best STAR TREK episodes ever.

          Oh well, just dreaming again. It would be fun and exciting to send Steve McGarrett undercover on a mission in an exotic location, requiring that he look and act like James Bond.

          Like

  3. vanduyn

    I loved him as Will Bryant 🙂

    Like

  4. gracenotpark

    *Spoiler alert* The death scene was remarkable. No wonder he got nominated for an award. Remarkable!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just re-watched this movie last week. I was still fascinated by the story and Alex’s performance as Will. Even though I knew Will doesn’t make it to the end my heart was heavy after that amazing scene and I still felt Mary’s aguish after learning Will’s fate. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • gracenotpark

      I think in RL, Will died of illness, with the kids, on the ship home. But I like the movie’s death scene better. Alex reeeeealllly rocked that sucker!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I think in real life Bill was about twice the age of Mary – lucky for us they made Bill young..
        I think Alex would have rocked the scene of suffereing and dying on the ship as well. It would have lasted longer than a few seconds and we would have seen more of him. 🙂

        Like

  6. I agree with all the comments ladies. It was a beautiful performance by a very beautiful young Alex.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amanda

    Have to agree fantastic acting by Alex, as he said there isn’t much info on Will, in fact not many people in Cornwall are aware of Mary’s gallant adventure, after her escape and returning back to England she was eventually pardoned & just simply disappeared after returning home, no mention in Bodmin jail about her arrest or transportation to Botany Bay.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Magnólia

    Fica tão bem nestes neste género de filmes❣
    🎶⚘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

