Alex O’Loughlin on The Back-Up Plan – 2010

Jennifer Lopez has had the dreamiest costars in Hollywood, from Matthew McConaughey and George Clooney to Marc Anthony and the snake from Anaconda. In The Back-Up Plan, Alex O’Loughlin had to hold his own as the leading man.

CanMag

Fred Topel

21 April 2010

“I did get kind of fit for the film,” O’Loughlin said. “Todd Black, our producer, offered me a trainer. I was like, ‘No, I’m okay.’ He was like, ‘Take the trainer.’ I was like, ‘All right. I don’t know what you’re saying.’ But I took the trainer. I met this guy, Jeff Blair who is still with me. He was like, ‘You can’t eat anything but this. You’ve got to do what I say.’ So, along with doing the film I did this kind of disciplined workout regimen.”

TBUP (6)

O’Loughlin also maintained a sense of humor about his commitment to fitness in the romantic comedy genre. “Because every cheese farmer is ripped and buff and I wanted to be true to character. But it took a lot of hard work to get there. You can rest assured in the fact that it’s all gone now.”

Lopez plays a woman who follows her backup plan to have kids, turning to a sperm bank. Then she meets Stan (O’Loughlin) who gets involved with her even though she’s already pregnant

“Jennifer’s the queen of romantic comedies. I mean, she’s so comfortable and successful in this genre. We all know her films, you know her romantic comedies before The Back-Up Plan. I was sort of trained in drama. I went to theater school. I started on the stage.

Comedy is absolutely an essential part of what we do as actors but I think in the grand scheme of things, comedy was born from tragedy. First there was tragedy and then there was comedies. I studied a bit of it at school. When it comes to cameras rolling and getting that timing right, the only way to do it and do it well is to throw yourself into it, which is what Jennifer does incredibly.”

TBUP (4)

Stan is not just “the guy” in Zoe (Lopez)’s story. He’s a juicy part, with his own needs and wants and sacrifices. “He’s a great well-rounded character and it just made perfect sense. I’ve never done anything like this. I’ve played more villains than anything else. I love playing villains because I can just be evil and do whatever I want. They’re like, ‘That’s genius.’ And it’s not really. I’m just being silly. So, this was the beginning of a new stretch that I’m really interested in, in my own career.”

TBUP (2)

As a father himself, getting to portray some of the real struggles a man could go through was also fulfilling. “I have a 12-year-old. I was there when he was born. He’s the center of my universe and always has been. I’ll never forget the day he was born. I mean I kept it together. I was pretty good I think. I was supportive.

But really, that scene in the water birth when Stan comes in and goes, ‘Oh my god.’ I mean that’s what was happening inside of me. I think really that’s what happens inside every man when he witnesses childbirth. It’s just like, ‘Please don’t faint. Dear lord, what’s happening?’ So, that was pretty funny. That was just an expression of my inner self when I actually was there.”

TBUP (11)

My Thoughts

  • Lots of familiar quotes and everything we already know, but always nice to read again and to look at pretty pictures. 🙂
7 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Interviews, Stan "the Man", The Back-Up Plan

7 responses to “Alex O’Loughlin on The Back-Up Plan – 2010

  1. cwtshjan

    I’m not a chick-flick girl but I made an exception to watch Alex in this. I liked it a whole lot more than I should have, although I have a feeling that it was because Alex/Stan was sooo gorgeous. He played it well.

    Like

    • gracenotpark

      LOL!!! I totally only saw it, and later bought it, cos Alex starred in it! Not a JLo or rom com fan. But he made me laugh, tear up, have heart flutters, so yeah, I enjoyed it too. 😉

      Like

  2. Karen

    To this day I still don’t know why I didn’t watch this in the theater. I got the DVD several months ago and I love this movie. Would have love to see Alex on the big screen!

    Like

  3. Kath40

    I saw TBUP in the theater when they offered a free girls night out event with complementary popcorn and cupcakes. I went with my sister and a theater full of giddy ladies that was lots of fun.
    Most of the audience was there for a JLo rom com, but I was there to see Alex on the BIG screen. ♥ I loved every minute watching Alex be Stan.

    I loved when a woman behind me whisper “ohhh who is he? He’s cute” when Alex first came on the screen as Stan jumping in the cab. ♥
    I also got kick out of the unified GASP when Stan waked up to Zoe half naked and said “watch out for that tree [deep breath]….hi” 😀
    WOOOOSH! *all panties just incinerated* 😛

    Like

    • That must have been so much fun. I never really liked this movie (obv apart from every Alex bit) but to hear the gasps in theater would have been awesome 🙂

      Like

  4. Leah

    Thanks for the post! Loved all the gorgeous pics of Alex/Stan – including the last one of his terror-filled face while watching the childbirth! 😀 And what a BEAUTIFUL gif banner!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

