O’Loughlin changes priorities – September 2012

Another oldie, but a goodie ….

Mike Gordon

Honolulu Pulse

23 September 2012

The team 1

Alex O’Loughlin, star of “Hawaii Five-0,” has been hard at work since July on the third season of the popular CBS drama, which debuts tonight with a special “Sunset on the Beach” screening in Waikiki and Monday, Sept. 24, for the rest of the country on television.

O’Loughlin, who plays Navy SEAL-turned-lawman Steve McGarrett, required a hiatus from the show last spring so he could receive help getting off the prescription pain medication prescribed for a nagging shoulder injury, but is back in good health and good spirits, “having the best time of my life.”

The 36-year-old Australian delighted fans in August with news that he and his girlfriend, model/surfer Malia Jones, are expecting a baby. The tough recovery from his shoulder injury and his new responsibilities at home have given O’Loughlin a fresh perspective on his role in the “Five-0″ cast, and he wants to make sure he is around to enjoy both the show and his growing family.

The team 3

“Family is my first priority. I hate to tell the producers of this show that, but that’s my first priority. … The show is my second priority. The show is extremely important, and you see how much I put into the show, so you can only imagine how much I put into my family,” O’Loughlin said. “Every spare minute I get, I am at home. I’m with the kids, I am with Malia.”

When “Hawaii Five-0” first started shooting episodes in 2010, O’Loughlin said it was a stunt-filled, physical show that made a lot of demands on his body. Now in his third year with the action show, O’Loughlin continues to follow a fitness routine that includes jiujitsu, biking, running and weight training. But after his shoulder injury, he admits he is approaching the physical demands of his role a little differently this season in order to remain healthy.

Alex promo

“I came back into season three, and I realized that … I am having a baby and I have my 15-year-old at home as well who lives with me and I have a lot of responsibilities,” he said. “But more than that, I have a responsibility to myself, and that’s something that I think I neglected a little bit. Not in a careless way, but this is the first show that I have had that has succeeded.

I think I felt like it was really on my shoulders, and I had some sort of Superman complex — I’m going to be all right; you can’t hurt me. But you can. I’m just like everyone else. Bang me around enough, eventually something’s going to break.

Alex 2

It’s actually really peaceful in my life now with this epiphany that I’ve had. And I still get into it and do some action stuff. I love all that stuff, but I don’t take the risks I was taking before. And it is not just so I don’t get hurt; it’s honestly because I don’t want to.”

My Thoughts

  • It is great to see that after 3 years, Alex still maintain the balance between the importance of his family and his work. Nothing sexier than to see a man who puts his family first, but who also show his dedication to his craft, the show and its fans. And on top of that who shows compassion and interest in the community where he finds himself.
8 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Hawaii Five-0, Interviews

8 responses to “O’Loughlin changes priorities – September 2012

  1. Your thoughts are oh so true! Couldn’t agree more! He is dedicated, responsible and committed in all aspects of his life, his own family and the extended H50 family.

    Like

  2. cwtshjan

    I think Alex is more of a Superman than he gives himself credit for. You’re right, the person he is makes him even sexier than the looks and the body do. Of course they do help though heehee!!

    Like

  3. Kath40

    His commitment to his family, his own health and his career just makes me love him more. ♥ I so proud to be one of his loyal fans ♥ XOXOXO

    Like

  4. gracenotpark

    Agh! When he went out sick and injured like that, it was so upsetting! We worried for him, cos we didn’t know much about his illness. And some horrible people were trying to claim he was a rich, indulgent, typical, party-dude celebrity fail. And that has sooooo never been Alex.

    This interview, where he showed himself strong and well and triumphant AND his usual humble but awesome self, was incredibly uplifting. I love revisiting it here. And I love how strong and healthy he and his family continue to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

