An Awkward Moment – January 2011

As far as I know we found this really funny article on Alex O’Loughlin Rocks (published in January 2011), but I lost some of the detail about it and also could not find a link to the original post. (And I actually thought we have already posted it before, but I also could not find anything on here)

alex smile press dl

Aussie journalist Anooska Tucker-Evans, who interviewed Alex in Honolulu for various publications, was brave and generous enough to share an extremely funny – if horribly embarrassing – incident with her readers back home. It may not have been her intention to have it appear online, but hey, we’re Alex fans – it’s what we do…   :giggle:   Thanks to MoonMad, here’s the transcript from the article in The Sunday Mail today:

alex smile dark leather

An Awkward Moment

I can never interview Aussie actor Alex O’Loughlin again! Not because of anything he did, but because of what I did. At the beginning of our face-to-face interview at a Hawaiian hotel, I handed him a bag with some Milo, Vegemite, a Summer Roll and a Sesame Caramel Bar to remind him of home.

As he dug through the bag, his face lit up like a child at Christmas. He loved it. Then when he found the Sesame Caramel Bar, he tore it open like a man possessed and began hoeing into it. He was happy, I was happy, but then – just seconds later – I wanted to die.

As I pulled out the gift bag from my handbag, unbeknown to me, my plastic room key had stuck to the side of it. As he looked through the bag, the card fell in his lap like a massive invitation screaming, “Hey, big boy, why don’t you come up to my room?” In one innocent act I had been transformed from professional journalist to cheap tart trying to jump his bones.

“Is this your room key?” Alex asked.

I stared blankly at it for what felt like an eternity, wanting to jackhammer a hole in the concrete floor beneath me to crawl into. I felt my face go redder than an albino in the sun, before I managed to squeak, “Yes”.

I immediately tried to grab it from him as he held it in front of me, wishing I could zap him with one of those memory eraser sticks like Men in Black. But Alex clearly found my humiliation amusing and decided to pull the card away as I went to take it. He then offered it to me again, only to pull it away, again. This happened twice more before he eventually gave it back.

Although I was horrendously embarrassed, I carried on – pretending like nothing had happened. Thankfully his stunning good looks distracted me from over-analysing the fact I had accidentally thrown myself at him harder than a 40-year-old virgin.

When the interview finished he gave me a hug and a kiss to say thanks for the present and then winked at me. And with that, I wish I had just given him my room key and said, “Meet you there in five”.

alex laugh bw spl

(You can find our post of the actual article Anooska wrote here:

A pair Hawaii five-star blokes – January 2011)

 

9 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Interviews, Uncategorized

9 responses to “An Awkward Moment – January 2011

  1. Brooklyngirl

    This article never fails to make me laugh! I know I would’ve been embarrassed to death and like her wish I could’ve given him the room key. Sigh, to sleep, perchance to dream….

    Like

  2. Oooohhh that man could make the most decent girl feel like a cheap tart!! Certainly does it to me as I demonstrated yesterday!! Heehee!!

    Like

  3. Karen

    Oh my!! What a cute article. I would have been so embarrassed. What a sweet man he was to make that interviewer feel less embarrassed.

    Like

  4. vanduyn

    Thanks for that! As I’m reading it I remembered the story. Can you imagine how cute it must have been?? Possibly he gave her the one eyebrow when he asked if it was hers 😀

    Like

  5. reginafilange2004

    I, like her would probably go as red as an albino in the sun. I’m thinking I had would also be sweating profusely from the embarrassment. Great story though, and what woman wouldn’t want to invite him up to their hotel room. I would… With the help of some liquid courage😋😍💋🍹🍸

    Like

  6. That’s our Alex – A perfect gentleman and i do mean PERFECT !!!

    Like

  7. How she went on with the interview after that was a miracle, it would have been impossible for me at least 🙂

    Like

  8. Leah

    This story is SO CUTE! I can just imagine MISCHIEVOUS Alex taunting her with the room key! 😀 Our cute lil devil!

    Like

  9. Gail Lessard

    Not that embarrassing. Cute story but hey with a different reaction, who knows? It’s cute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

