Learn More About Alex O’Loughlin

This story is an extension of one we posted a while back…..

Kate O’Hare’s Hot Cuppa TV

8 October 2009

Moving on to far more pleasant things, click here for a story just posted on Zap2it.com in which I share a few details you may not know about Alex O’Loughlin of CBS’ Sunday-night medical drama Three Rivers

And just because I always like to give my Cuppers a little something extra tasty for tea, here’s an additional story that explains why O’Loughlin wears a very nice watch and owns several more.

Alex: “I collect watches. I love them. I’ve been obsessed with watches since I was a boy. My grandfather had a watch. Before he died, he used to turn wood, make beautiful tables. At his workshop, he had this old watch. It was, like, stainless steel with a black face, some old Swiss watch. He would keep it in one of the drawers in his workshop.

“He was an old, gruff Aussie man, so he’d growl at me when I’d go into the workshop. So I’d sneak in — because he had sharp tools, lathes, dangerous stuff. I’d go in and think, ‘It’s so deadly in here.’ I’d go in his drawer, and I’d open it and the watch was this big thing.

“It was cold, and I’d put it to my face. It was cold, metal, heavy. It was like a story in his life. It had dings in it. I remember looking at it when we’d go fishing. So from that point, I’ve always had this thing with watches.”

Unfortunately, O’Loughlin didn’t inherit the watch — which apparently has been now lost — but has several in his collection, which he keeps in a bank safe-deposit box. Don’t know for sure, but probably not a Hello Kitty one in the bunch (but maybe I’m wrong).

tictoc dl

*****

Reading Kate’s story, we thought in might be interesting to take a look at some of Alex’s collection of watches. Of course the only times that we can see them is on pictures taken at events and also in candid pictures at events and with fans. It is not easy to always spot them, because at formal events he wears long sleeves.

It looks like he’s got some favourite ones and you will see him wearing them more often and at different occasions. In most of the pictures they did not really focus on his hands, therefore the watches are small. And of course fan pictures are rarely good quality. We did not incorporate watches from his work, because they most probably are part of the show’s wardrobe props and not his own. We are not sure about the watches used in photoshoots, but have incorporated a few of them here.

The early days

The Hawaii Five-0 era

 

These picture are just for fun and as always just an excuse to look and intensely research some pretty pictures of Alex. 🙂 Maybe some of you who are knowledgable about watches, will recognize some of the brands that he owns.

7 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Interviews

7 responses to “Learn More About Alex O’Loughlin

  1. serai1

    So a watch would be a cool gift to give Alex – if you’ve got the bucks for something worth buying, eh?

    Back when I still cared about what time it was, I used to love watches. They’re so convenient. Having to fish out a device from some purse or pocket just to see the time is just so ANNOYING, I don’t know why anyone settles for it.

    Oh, and – arms. Elbows, forearms, wrists, hand. SKIN. Warm, strong, flexible. Come over here and wrap me in those arms. UNNNH.

    Like

  2. I love his watches they are big, bold and beautiful and suit Alex perfectly ♥

    I no longer can find the story, but I remember Sabine at the Donate Life Person of the Year Awards met Alex and presented him with some gifts from his fans. One of which was a custom watch box. Sorry I don’t recall that fans name, but she converts Cigar Boxes with beautiful enamel work on top and lines them with velvet. Alex graciously accepted one she made especially for him. http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr178/kath40/Alex%20Oloughlin/Donate%20Life/Watch%20Box_zpsics1jtin.jpg
    I like to think Alex keeps it in a special place in his home and keeps some of his watches or jewelry in it 😉 ♥

    Like

  3. What a great study!!! Love it.
    I like watches very much and always thought that Alex has a great taste in watches. They are special but never too much, you know. Like those horrible watches bling bling and all some men seem to *need* ;-).
    I esp. love his watch we see him wearing at the workshop 2011, at the TCA event 2010 or the watch he’s wearing 2014 together with this sprecial hawaiian shirt 😀 at the charity event. Seems I have a thing for leather straps.

    Like

  4. Leah

    Really enjoyed his story about his grandfather . . . a little bit of personal insight. 🙂 And I’m guessing his grandfather’s woodworking rubbed off on him somewhat (because he’s mentioned he enjoys that type work/hobby and displayed his skills on building his deck at his home, projects at Egan’s facility, etc). Thank you ladies!

    Like

  5. Another story about his grandfather that i didn’t know. And other cool study about one of Alex’s passions.Thank You!

    Like

  6. Great interesting post Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

