#H50 cast members reveal secrets & guilty pleasures – March 2011

We continue our look back at those early days of Hawaii Five-0

 

guilty pl 4

By Teri Okita

Hawaii News Now

(KGMB)

1 March 2011

Teri: Once we got past all the formalities and the serious questions, we wanted to know if they would open up about their secrets and guilty pleasures.

guilty 2

Teri [commenting]: When the director yells “Cut!”, these crimefighters like to kick back and kicked it with me for about 20 minutes. That’s when I asked them, what would surprise people about them?

Scott: I’m pretty sensitive.

Teri: Really?

Scott: Yeah.

Teri: Because you don’t come across that way.

Scott: See.

Teri [commenting]: We find out Alex O’Loughlin is a big Metallica fan and Daniel Dae Kim hangs with the band’s lead guitarist. Nothing earth-shattering. So, we try to grill Grace Park.

Alex: What about Grace? …. I don’t want to go there!

Grace:  [laughs].

guilty-pl-1

Daniel: Grace. What can we say about Grace that’s really a surprise?

Grace: Stuff that you guys know. …..

Alex: People … he thinks that people ….

Grace: Well, people freak me out! What about that?

Daniel: [Laughing]

Teri: People freak you out?

Grace: Yeah.

Alex: I wouldn’t have guessed that Grace is such a party animal ….

Grace: I’m not.

Alex: Cause she seems like such a good girl. [to Grace] Is that something that people would be surprised about?

Grace: I’m not really a party animal. I just like to go out and dance!

Teri [commenting]: All right. Grace likes to dance. Alex listens to heavy metal music. We’re determined to get something juicier. How about their guilty pleasures?

Alex: I’m not prepared to disclose anything …

guilty-pl-2

Scott: Yeah, no, but it’s a good question. That’s the most interesting question yet. Let’s get into that.

Teri [commenting]: For a moment they actually tried to deflect the heat onto me.

Daniel: [Pointing to Teri] She’s never watched the show

Teri: I have watched the show.

Grace: I love that. It’s an awesome expression.

Scott: I don’t watch it either. It’s fine

Alex: Wow.

Grace: Maybe that’s our guilty pleasure.

Scott: Wait. Guilty pleasures.What are your guilty pleasures?

Alex: Go, go. No, you start.

Grace: Do we all have to say something?

Alex: Sure. Guilty pleasures.

Grace: I’m not going to say mine. What is my guilty pleasure?

Daniel: Glee is my guilty pleasure.

Alex: Is it?

Scott: Why is that a guilty pleasure?

Daniel: It’s not a show that I would normally watch, but my son really loves it, so I watch it with him.

Scott: Well, someone right now is saying Hawaii Five-0 is their guilty pleasure.

Daniel: Yeah, that could very well be.

Grace: Sure

Teri [commenting]: Unfortunately, no matter how hard I tried, girls, Alex just didn’t give anything up.

Alex: No, all of mine are naughty, so I’m not telling!

guilty 3

Teri [commenting]: They’re well into the first season, and by now, they’ve shrugged off comparisons to the original Five-0.

Alex: That’s this thing we get asked all the time, you know,  ‘What’s the pressure like of playing a character that’s been played before?’ It’s like …. there is no pressure. Hamlet gets done every week, you know it’s the thing.

Scott: Which is very similar to what we’re doing here. It’s …

Daniel: [Laughs]

Alex: [laughs]  Yeah, I thought I’d drop that in there, ’cause nothing is more analogous to the new Hawaii Five-0 than ‘The Bard’.

guilty 1

Teri: [commenting] They definitely don’t take themselves too seriously. And here’s something interesting they told me. It takes seven days to prep for an episode. Then, another eight days to shoot that episode – and they’re just four of almost 200 people that it takes to put the show together.

Link to the video

Photo from Governor Neil Abercrombie's visit to the Hawaii Five-0 set at the old state post office on King street on February 14, 2011. Photo by Ed Morita edmorita@me.com

Photo from Governor Neil Abercrombie’s visit to the Hawaii Five-0 set at the old state post office on King street on February 14, 2011.
Photo by Ed Morita
edmorita@me.com

Also on the video of that news cast, it was reported that Governor Abercrombie and his wife visited the Hawaii Five-0 set on Valentine’s day (2011) and that he showed his appreciation for the number of Hawaiians employed by the show.

Photo from Governor Neil Abercrombie's visit to the Hawaii Five-0 set at the old state post office on King street on February 14, 2011. Photo by Ed Morita edmorita@me.com

Photo from Governor Neil Abercrombie’s visit to the Hawaii Five-0 set at the old state post office on King street on February 14, 2011.
Photo by Ed Morita
edmorita@me.com

6 Comments

Filed under Hawaii Five-0, Interviews

6 responses to “#H50 cast members reveal secrets & guilty pleasures – March 2011

  1. serai1

    Ahaha. Cagey lil’ bahstid, ahynee?

    /attempt at Aussie accent.

    Like

  2. This was a fun interview they all get along so well. 😀
    BTW is it possible that last gif of Alex is running backwards? Don’t get me wrong I love it ♥ it’s funny how he goes from smiling to such a serious look to the side. It looks like it’s from 1: 57 to 1:58 in the video only in reverse. 😉

    Like

  3. I would love to know more about Alex’s guilty pleasures but he is very private, so we have no luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

