The Steve McGarrett Story – No # 111 (The ‘cost’ of a lobotomy)

We continue our story from here

Once again I was struggling to say anything useful about this episode. I had this feeling that I actually do not want to waste my  time by giving any comments on this “Epilogue to the Matty-Reyes farce” (Those of you have followed my Steve’s story series, will remember my “thoughts” on the story of Epi 504). For me it is a pity that the writing on a billion dollar franchise like Hawaii Five-0, has been reduced to fit the availability of actors and writings stories around them……

All I can say is how grateful I am they did not try to make this torture into a two-part episode (as most people suggest it should have been). I started writing my questions about what I saw, not really knowing what to do with it. Should I just be a nitpicking asshole again, or just delete it all and write nothing about this episode? Then while I was gone, some smart-ass came and “answered” my questions. That gave me the thought that it might be a fun idea to use the extra help, and keep the smart-ass’ comments. 😀

Say hello to our new blog helper, a Koalified Smartass 🙂koala-smartass

My questions and thoughts, (with the “answers”)

  • So Joe was just hanging around on vacation in Hawaii after he spend 21 days in quarantine. Suddenly while driving somewhere, he got a call from Doris. It is a tip-off that Danny will be arrested by Federal Marshalls and extradited. He calls Steve without delay? 🙂 -That´s what moms are for, to look after their kids (38-year-old, highly decorated ones too) 🙂Koala, you’re kind of missing my point – Why is Joe still hanging around in Hawaii? He lives on the mainland now.

518 (8)

  • So I guess Steve just leaves his truck at the Federal detention building and hops into Joe’s vehicle to drive around to nowhere?The truck is like Kitt and drives itself. Also the reason why Steve so desperately wants to drive Danny´s car 😉Ah, you solved the mystery!
  • How does the FBI know Danny pulled the trigger and not Steve? There were only 3 people in that room when Reyes was killed – Danny, Steve and Reyes. – They found the gun with Danny´s fingerprints (it will be part of the deleted scenes 😉 ) But how do they know that Reyes was unarmed? Danny could have acted in self-defence?  You know, innocent until proven guilty and all that……
  • How did the state department know exactly how much money Danny took to Reyes? They watched the season premiere too 🙂
  • So for 5 or 6 months since Danny murdered Reyes, those guards where just guarding that facility with the dope. Nobody wondering what happened to the boss? They must have heard that he was dead, or got hungry and wanted their payment for that labour? – Perhaps they were testing the dope. Daily. Without a care in the world 😀Okay, that might explain EVERYTHING (Maybe the writers joined them? 😉 ).

518 (51)

  • So after driving Steve to nowhere, suddenly Joe is alone again, buying ‘cigarette’ in China Town – are we stuck in an 80’s spy story? (Oops, there was no flash drives in the 80’s.) – Look forward to the deleted scenes in S5 extras, at least 3 scenes explaining it all 😉
  • I still do not know why or how Chin was arrested the same time as Danny – apart from the money used for Danny’s crime, the 2 stories had nothing connecting them in the end. The 2 officials did not even work with the other? 😕 – There wasn´t room in the Jeep for Chin, they had to get him out of the way, somehow 😛
  • And why are the whole Five-0 team so willing to share information about their transgressions. Chin saying he “borrowed” the money and gave it to his friend (Danny) in need – implicating them both in a crime. What kind of rookie does that?  AND then Steve, saying that Reyes was murdered – there was a shootout upstairs when Danny and Steve were taken away from Reyes. Who says Reyes was not armed as well – Steve is the only witness to the murder. Who other than Steve’s testimony can convict Danny? So now he is confessing? REALLY? – Steve had no choice! It was written in the script 😉
  • Two guys leaving 18½ million dollars in cash at an orphanage in Colombia – and it did not make the news? Some very happy orphans eating a ton of ice-cream and cake in Colombia 😉

518 (22)(Don’t know about the very happy orphans, but this footage is making this fangirl’s heart race wildly 😛 )

  • I still do not understand how Danny “saved” Grace and Steve by signing the waiver?  The guy did not really threaten Danny with anything. -It helps to watch with just a couple of working brain cells. Much easier that way 🙂
  • How is giving up his freedom, like the way Danny did, showing any form of love to your daughter? – It must have made more sense in the H50 writers office…
  • I thought it was hilarious that Steve knew where Sam was driving around every time, and pulling him over. – He followed the camera crew, eye-production signs on the road 😛
  • And Gracie is not like any other child I know – hanging around the house in her school uniform? – She was hoping for uncle Steve to come over  😉KOALA!!

518 (56)

  • So Danny has been arrested, processed, arraigned and already 2 hours on the plane, before Steve got to Sam – all in one day? Stuff that happen off camera, only take nanoseconds. It´s the magic of TV land 🙂
  • I found it funny that the IA cop was actually as scared as a naughty kid and ready to leave, when Steve started counting down. – Everyone should be scared of Steve boiling over! 
  • Who was shooting at them from the ground in Colombia? The government or the drug cartel? Let’s take a wild guess – Colombians? 😀
  • So the day ended, and a new one began….. Everybody still in the same clothes (Which is maybe understandable – they worked worried through the night, finding no solutions). And now suddenly Steve runs off to chat to Gracie – The H50 wardrobe truck broke down and they couldn´t get to Steve that day… Missing my point again Koala. Steve “cared” so much about Gracie, that he waited till the next day to console her – and she was in such distress about Danno being arrested, that she either forgot to take off her school uniform during the night, or she was off to school as normal again …. just another day in Danno’s kid’s life? – Some interns in editing room, messing up?
  • And Frank Bana is the “Genie” of the show? He can pop up in any continent, as needed, at the drop of a hat. Just to fly an old washing machine with propellers  into combat. I pictured this: Frank sitting in his bar in South Korea. Drinking his Margarita, while a call from Joe comes through. Without a second thought, he drove from the jungle in Asia, hopped on the first plane available, for the 15 000 km from South Korea to Colombia (in South America). There he rushed to the nearest old deserted airfield and found this old military helicopter there……and he had time to decorate it with the American flag and create the right vibe with his boombox – all before our hero’s (Joe White and his Musketeers) arrived there from Oahu. – You got it 😀
  • So Joe follows Steve and Danny around now and appears out of thin air. Keeping a watchful eye as Grace and Danny unite 😕 – It is a well-known fact that people and objects can teleport on TV. And they were running out of time, they had to squeeze in Joe and that mom looks after Steve – story.
  • And after everything, I still do not understand what Sam (The spook) got out of it to send Danny to jail in Colombia? – It was all explained “off camera”. Just ask PL 😉
  • And what happened to all the guards at Gabriel’s safe house? – They were napping in the shades 🙂
  • So nobody tracked Coughlin’s phone? – They still don´t know how to spell O´Loughlin?! Still?!! NO man, Coughlin is the pen-in-the-eye, dead IA agent – you need to concentrate, this plot is complicated…….

Apart from Steve having to pay the price of the “lobotomy” he got during Episode 504, and Mom showing that somewhere in this ugly world she is still looking out for and caring about her son, there is nothing really new to add to Steve’s story.

Maybe somewhere, somehow there is some redemption to be found for Doris in all this? This fangirl is living in the hope of it – not only for the sake of Steve’s character, but also for the man (Alex) behind him and for the Hawaii Five-0 that I love!

Best thing we can do, is to end of with the highlights of this episode……..

  – Hawaii Five-0: Episode 518 –

Pono Kaulike (Justice for All)

To be continued………. (Maybe)

 

33 Comments

Filed under Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett

33 responses to “The Steve McGarrett Story – No # 111 (The ‘cost’ of a lobotomy)

  1. karen

    Watch out, or you will nitpick yourself into a nervous breakdown. LOL. Seriously, I’m sure 99% of viewers don’t notice or don’t care about writing gaffs. I am usually neurotic and OCD, but not when it comes to TV storytelling. I did think the story was going along at a good pace til the end. It was like they suddenly decided we didn’t really need a 2 epi story after all. But, whatever. I am still trying to accept that this may be the end for H50. That’s my worry right now.

    Like

  2. “Best thing we can do, is to end of with the highlights of this episode……..”
    Thank you! I needed these pics to distract me from the plot holes as big as a whale 😉 !!!
    Nekkid arms – Check
    Nekkid calves – Check
    Nekkid sideb00b – Check
    Nekkid gecko – I LOVE THE NON-MAKEUP DEPT!!!!

    Like

  3. kalola1061

    I also think that this is the end of 50. Believe me I don’t want to see it end but the writing this year has been terrible, I can honestly say that I have liked only 2 episodes this year, before I used to love every one. Is Peter tired of doing this show?

    Like

    • I think it is just hard to keep writing good stuff, while you need to accomodate all the factors and people involved. Juggling everybody’s demand and needs around, must really put a limit on what you can write.
      On social media the fans close to Peter keeps on telling him how fantastic and great this season 5 is, and that the writing is as good or even better than season 1. Maybe they are right and they represent the taste and needs of the majoity of the fans? There are as many likes and dislikes as there are fans I guess. Maybe what is written this season, is what most fans want?
      I have said many times before, that I think H5-0 had the ingredients to be one of the greatest TV Cop-shows of all time – there were just too many chances lost for that in my eyes.
      For me setting up the characters in the Pilot like that, was absolutely fantastic and the cast and crew and writing in general are great – it is just somewhere in the mixing prosess that something of that great winning recipe got lost for me personally. 😦

      Like

      • gracenotpark

        I too think this is the final season…Lenkov clearly has lost interest, and focus. But if he has lost control of his cast, that is his bad. Is he “the boss” or not? He surely likes being called boss…then BE one! And only 5 years in, there are plenty stories to tell. I read some amazing fanfics even now that are creative enough, and more importantly understand and maintain the integrity of the characters way better than this alt-universe season of 5-0 has done.

        PLenkov stayed we’d need Kleenex to get thru this ep…I think he was referring to the various errors and ridiculous plot holes you pointed out, rather than any true emos in the ep itself. 😆

        I’m only in this for the McG, btw… 😉

        Like

  4. karen1228

    Have to say that on this show there is never, ever a reference to time. We don’t know if it’s hours, days, weeks or months between episodes. Joe could have been released the day before from isolation. There are always a lot of gaffs in the writing, it’s tv, every episode of every show would be interminable if the writers reminded the viewers of everything that had transpired. I would need a lobotomy if I had to sit sit thru that. How Frank appeared In Columbia, well, think poetic license. I’m one of the people who wished it was a 2-hr epi or a to-be-continued because it was rather rushed. But I was impressed that the writers pulled it off and feel that if done right, could lead to a continuation of the Doris arc and hopefully an ending to a story that should have died a long time ago. Don’t sweat the small stuff, sit back, relax and enjoy the pretty that Alex provides weekly. If you want reality, watch the news.

    Like

    • My use of the English language is not always that good, but I hope this explains a bit of how see things with a Cop TV show like H5-0. For me there is a difference in ‘reality’ and ‘realism’.
      I definitely do not want reality in a fictional story like Hawaii Five-0, but I would like a degree of realism.
      The definitions I could find online:
      Reality: the world or the state of things as they actually exist, as opposed to an idealistic or notional idea of them.
      Realism: the quality or fact of representing a person, thing, or situation accurately or in a way that is true to life.
      I do agree – it is about Alex brings the pretty every week, but also great acting and bringing Steve to life for us to enjoy.

      Like

  5. I don’t need reality all the time but a continuation of the story would be nice. Still no one knows Kono and Adam are engaged? I hope it is not the end because I love watching Alex weekly. For all its flaws it still keeps me entertained I just wish the writing were better. As I said in the previous post, it wasn’t a tearjerker for me because we didn’t see Danny go through any emotion on screen as to murdering the man who murdered his brother. All goes back to the writing. I think the powers that be want it to be crime of the week with guest stars and pretty people. And I want character stories and the crime of the week. For some reason in season 1 and early in season 2 they seemed to nail this and then somewhere along the line something changed to crime of the week only and once in a while character stuff. Anyway, my two cents. 🙂

    Like

    • Colleen

      I agree with you! Season one and the beginning of season two were perfect. I loved every episode and those are the ones I rewatch. I guess we will have to like what the writers give us because at least we still get Alex every week. Great post Foueur! The smarty pants koala was very funny. I think she should stay around. Haha

      Like

      • I loved Season 3 – the stories surprised me.
        Some of my favourite episodes ever were 320 and 306. (306 of course a Danny episode, handled with great finesse)
        Crime, Humour & Character in good balance, were present throughout the season.

        Like

        • You are right season 3 had some solid episodes too. So when did it start to derail, season 4? I don’t know. But, as you said 7 episodes left there is still hope lol

          Like

          • The writing started to derail, once they had to start accommodating the availablity of their main cast members at the start of season 4. When you have to write around when everybody is available in Hawaii to shoot – the juggling around of that becomes more important than the stories itself. 😦

            Like

  6. buttercup4u

    I so wished that Steve grabbed that IA guy and shoved him out of his office, if we can’t have shirtless Steve, then we at least would please have rough and hot-blooded Steve!
    I WANT WILD STEVE!
    I absolutely love the close-up of his tatts with all that hugging!
    I wish a hug from Steve would clear all the troubles 😉

    Like

  7. I just have to comment and agree with Karen. It shouldn’t matter the time frame…it is up to us the viewers to follow along….and get our own take.

    1. Steve (and Joe) knowing where the CIA man was…they can track him via phone, satellite, etc. so for me that was a no-brainer.
    2. Joe has connections, albeit Doris, so it didn’t surprise me that Frank was in Columbia…they could’ve flown him there because Steve, even though he can fly, was needed elsewhere…that was an easy assumption.
    3. Chin’s arrest could’ve been a coincidence or planned we may never know but I am glad it was resolved.
    4. Steve not getting “punished” for the Reyes shooting…understandable and Doris must have called in a lot of favors…we shall she how they are together….
    5. Joe could’ve been in Hawaii after being quarantined and hadn’t left yet…there are times when the story goes from one week to the next and sometimes it jumps. I personally assumed that Joe was all over…he might have been stateside when Steve needed him (the 2nd time) in Korea and he could have been in Hawaii….all I know was that he was there.
    6. It was a great episode. I think we just need to enjoy them. I agree that Danny didn’t get too emotional but I think he did feel guilty.

    Just my two cents.

    Like

    • Annie

      I can tell you what happened to Gabriel. He shaved off his mustache and then assumed a new identity, Paul Norita. Currently is hiding out in a place called Salem, Soapsville, USA. …..So are the “Days of Our Lives”!!!

      Like

  8. alexnymph

    Yes, please keep Purple Koala around, for the sake of all our sanity to remind us of the magic of @plenkov and the writers.

    I figured Doris was Joe’s contact pretty early on, so that was not a surprise to me at the end.

    My nitpick of the week was Grace’s nonchalance. First, whose house was she staying at? Second, how could she be so relaxed lying on the bed with her feet behind her like that–the universal pose for “just chillin’ “–when her dad is off in a foreign prison? Third, how could she not respond when Uncle Steve said “I love you.”? I like the girl, but she never could act.

    Like

    • I would think it is Stan and Rachel’s house. I know it was never made clear, but with Stan moving his business to Vegas, Danny got the court order that Rachel could not move away with Gracie. They still have joined custody. Rachel would never have left for the mainland and leave Gracie behind, just to be under Danny’s care alone – not the Rachel we know and have seen with her with their history.
      It is really a pity that the actress who plays Rachel is not available in Hawaii to make stort appearances – it would have given Danny’s stories so much more flesh if she was around. (In hindsight itmight have been a better idea to cast a local girl for the role – it would have made sense that a local girl would have move back to Hawaii with Gracie, after she and Danny got divorced 🙂
      I don’t really think Teilor have the ability to improv a response to Steve, if it was not in the script.
      I think it must have been difficult to cast a child actor at the beginning of the series.- especially if you wanted to cast a local, who would be more readily available.

      Like

  9. buttercup4u

    I hope we will see the green cargos again! Nice pic when he jumps out of the car 😉

    Like

  10. such a great post! “Answered” a lot of questions, LOL

    Like

  11. Wow Foyeur! i have to congratulate your new helper. The Koala is really smart. You both have great sense of humor and i really enjoyed reading this post. I had more fun of read your words than watching this episode.
    I’m frustrated with the storyline of season 5, or shall i say the lack of plot development and continuity of characters that would be believable and interesting. In my opinion the talent of this cast is waisted by the writing, and makes me sad because like you said several times H50 had all the ingredients to be one of the best cop shows of all time.
    For me the only good parts were with Steve. Alex once more “saves the day” with his outstanding performance and letting us feel all the rollercoaster of emotions Steve passed during 40 minutes.
    Although i think that your friend Koala is very smart and funny, i would prefer that he not coming back. It would be the reason that we would have awesome performances with great stories in our beloved show, and don’t need to use humor to point the plot holes, the out of character script lines or all the out of camera scenes.

    Like

    • I would also rather have only small bits for the Koala to comment on, rather that nearly everything. 😦
      YOur comments once again reminded of this quote –
      Never mind that the project you’re in isn’t good; shine as bright as you can. And find the truth. We are either in the truth or we’re not. The truth is difficult to get to. This conversation we are having is the truth. We get to this place and the cameras are rolling, we’re great.”

      – Alex O’Loughlin, Actors workshop HI, March 2011.

      Like

      • Alex is very wise in saying that in actor’s point of view and i totally agree with him. But in viewer’s perspective, i’m very frustrated with the waste of talent of this cast with the writing that they are giving us since last year and getting worse this season. I’m one of the few people that never doesn’t care about the COTW. I was conquered to watch H50 by the characters plot, so you understand my disappointment.

        Like

  12. Loulou

    I really like the show, but sometimes …. I just had one more thought when I watch this episode. Did they burn all the coke without a protective mask ?
    Hello, hello the pink elephants !!! with all this smoke full of coke ?!!!
    Sorry for my english !

    Like

    • I thought about that as well.
      I saw they used some cloths/ hanky’s around the mouths and noses – but not sure how much protection that would be? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

