Alex O’Loughlin talks ‘Five-0,’ Hawaii and going shirtless – September 2010

Show Patrol – Chicago Now

By Curt Wagner 

7  September 2010

Alex O’Loughlin hopes his third shot at TV success, “Hawaii Five-0,” is a charm. In fact, he might try anything to make it happen. “Anything that helps–just keep it on the air,” the Aussie actor joked about the buzz generated by talk of his many shirtless scenes. “I’ll get the whole kit off if you do that.”

407-br-bw 1

“Hawaii Five-0,” the reboot of the 1960s police drama, premieres at 9 p.m. Monday on CBS with O’Loughlin creating a much more physical–and
sexier–Steve McGarrett than Jack Lord did in the original.

The new McGarrett is a Navy Seal who, after his father is murdered by baddie Victor Hesse (James Marsters), makes a deal with the governor to run an elite police task force designed to stop international terrorists, human traffickers and gun smugglers on the island.

He enlists the aid of former cop Chin Ho Kelly (Daniel Dae Kim), Kelly’s newbie officer niece, Kono Kalakaua (Grace Park), as well as Danny “Danno” Williams (Scott Caan), who isn’t real happy about being teamed with McGarrett.

It’s an action-packed, gorgeously shot drama that, after his CBS’ series “Moonlight” and “Three Rivers” failed to catch fire, should finally give O’Loughlin a hit.

“Basically, if this one doesn’t go the distance, then I’m dumbfounded,” he said.

During our phone conversation, O’Loughlin talked about shooting in Hawaii, his old CBS shows and, maybe a little begrudgingly, the “big deal” made over his shirtless scenes.

407 br bw 2

Are you having fun in Hawaii?

Alex: Man, it’s great. It’s a really, really special part of the world. And I’m on a show that I’m really excited about. It’s a reboot of the old show that we all know, most of us know and love, but it’s got a very new, modern spin on the tale.

The premiere, directed by Len Wiseman, is action-packed. Will the next episodes be as exciting and cinematic?

Alex: We really deliver. It’s got all the action, it’s got all the character, it’s got a great story. It just doesn’t stop from one page to the next.

Critics talk a lot about character development and other things, but sometimes I just wanna see **** blow up.

Alex: You and every other boy on the planet, mate.

The action is intense, and you’re doing most of your stunts. Maybe you should get combat pay? Scott Caan was injured recently.

Alex: Yeah, he’s a bit softer than me, mate.

[Laughs.] OK.

Alex: I don’t want to tease him about it though, he’ll get a complex.

Yeah, yeah. But that teasing sort of fits the relationship between your characters, right?

Alex: [Laughs.] Yeah, a little bit. Look, I’m actually a real softie myself. I’m kind of unlike Steve McGarrett in a lot of ways. I’m not as brave, I’m not as smart. [Laughs.] I’m a bit more open-hearted.

407 br 3 b

I enjoy the rapport between you and Scott, your characters.

Alex: We have a great rapport between us. Something we discovered when we first met was that we had a bunch of mutual friends and we were born, literally, a couple of hours apart. There’s a natural complicity that we found. We have very similar senses of humor, and a sort of sensibility of the world and just the way we’re built. And so that really shows on screen and it plays so well in these two characters.

It gives the show a little bit of buddy-cop humor. I think it adds a lot to what could be just another procedural. Do you enjoy playing the comedy or the action more?

Alex: I love it all. I think most of the comedy lives in the relationship between McGarrett and Danno. In that back-and-forth banter that we have. I just do my part and play my character and of course, you never play the comedy. A lot of it is really funny when I play it back. But it’s … an honest funny. It’s the sort of funny that we have with our siblings, with people who know us better than anyone else. And it’s almost like these two characters met and fell into this brotherly relationship before they even realized what was happening. It’s as enjoyable to play as it is to watch.

Did you know each other before the show?

Alex: No. We met once through a friend, but that was it.

How is your McGarrett different than Jack Lord’s McGarrett?

Alex: First of all, in the pilot you learn all about this McGarrett. You know, whereas in Jack Lord’s character, you didn’t really get much back story. And you get a truckload of back story right away. So we know more about him. He’s a good deal younger, a good deal more energetic, a good deal more aggressive. He’s a Navy Seal and comes back on a vengeance mission to Hawaii, to avenge his father’s death. The reason he takes the job to run the task force is to help him get what he wants, which is to avenge his dad’s murder.

The old show, Jack Lord’s character was more sort of brooding. He was more sort of stylized, as was the style of the day just all around. Everyone’s acting was different, everyone was different. So we’re going for much more naturalism and, yeah, those are a few fundamental differences.

At Comic-Con, Peter Lenkov hinted that we may not have seen the end of James Marsters bad-guy character.

Alex: Yeah, well, no, I have nothing to comment.

401 br bw 1

OK. Is it fun to have this group of people from almost every genre of TV.

Alex: Yeah. It’s cool, and Scotty, who of course hasn’t really done a TV show, brings something else altogether. It’s great, man. I was interested, as you always are when you move into something new, in how we would all fit together. And it really fits well; I mean the whole “Hawaii Five-0” family, the four of us, sort of compliment each other in different ways. And it makes perfect sense. I could never be a casting agent. I’d get it wrong every time.

Peter told TV Guide about a scene you shot recently where you’re shirtless and coming out of the ocean.

Alex: This sort of makes everything I do from here on out moot. Blah, blah, blah.

That subject just doesn’t interest you, does it?

Alex: What do you want me to say? How do I respond to that? [Laughs.] You know what it’s got to do with my character? OK, he’s a Navy Seal; that’s correct. He’s a Navy Seal so he swims and yeah, that makes sense. And so they say, “We’re going to put the camera here, you go for a swim.” I go for a swim and then they’re like, “Oh, it’s a big deal.” It’s not a big deal, man! I went for a swim. “Yeah, you took your shirt off.” Yeah, who gives a [bleep]? Then, of course, everyone asks me about it, but it’s like, “You’ve never seen a bloke with his shirt off or something?”

Really? I thought I’d be the only person to ask you this.

Alex: Look, [laughs] I get it, mate.

Anything that helps the show, right?

Alex: Yeah, anything that helps — just keep it on the air. I’ll get the whole kit off if you do that. I’ll tell you one thing, it’s nice to get paid to wake up in the morning in Hawaii and at 5:30 just jump into the ocean and go for a swim.

403 br 1 b

Does it feel a bit like, “I can’t complain about this job?”

Alex: Yeah. Look, I try to always adopt that attitude because I’m extremely lucky. I’ve got a job that I love doing. How rare is it to go and get a degree and actually work in the field that you took? … And not only that, I’m working a great job. I get looked after, I get fed, I get paid well, I get to work with really cool people. I get to do exciting stuff that I enjoy. So it’s all good. It’s a lot of hard work though. We do really long hours and we try not to break bones when we’re mucking around with our own stunts and stuff.

Will we see more cases-of-the-week, or more serialized elements to this?

Alex: Well, you mentioned the first three open with a serialized element, which is–well, potentially–I should say, James Marsters’ character. Listen man, I hate procedural TV. I don’t hate it; I just I get frustrated with it because it’s like this [happens] and then it wraps itself up. I understand the nature of the business and I understand the importance of that so that fans and audience members can tune in whenever and just catch up and enjoy it. … I like long stories. I’d prefer not to just boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom and then it’s all wrapped up neatly. That’s why I loved “The Shield” so much because it was all about arcs.

But to answer your question, finally, yes, it’s absolutely serialized and there will be stories of the week all the time, but there’s going to be a couple of arcs as well.

Well, that’s good. I think that’s more challenging for the viewers, but it’s far more interesting.

Alex: That’s a much simpler way of delivering the enormous monologue I gave you.

403 br 2

Tell me about all the Aussies on American TV.

Alex: Yeah, there’s a few of us. Well, there’s no work at home, so we come over here … When I first came out here 12-13 years ago, I freaked out and put my tail between my legs and went back home again. There were no Aussies here. And I even sort of thought about coming back out about eight years ago, I guess, and started chipping away for a couple of years before I moved six years ago, and there were even fewer Australians then. It’s like there’s been a real influx over the last few years … We get trained pretty comprehensively back there as well.

The only disappointing thing about it is we never get to hear your accents.

Alex: Well, you’re hearing it now.

That’s right. That’s why I love my job. So let’s talk a little bit about your past shows, like “Moonlight.” Maybe a little before its time, now that we have the vampire craze. I was happy to see repeats on the CW this summer though.

Alex: Yeah, it’s great. It was a great show; it was a great experience for me. It was a huge learning curve for me. I’d done “The Shield” and I’d done a bunch of films. But it was the first time that the weight of the show was on my shoulders, so to speak. I think, as a lot of young, diligent actors probably do the first time around, I took that to the grave with me. I did everything in my power to keep that show on the air. I fought so hard. You wouldn’t believe the hours I worked. For me working an 18 -, 19-hour day was normal.

On the Warner Brothers lot at the time, we became a thing of fable. People would be like, “Oh my God, you’re on ‘Moonlight.’ Is it true that you guys would do 100 hours a week?” I’d be like, “Yeah.” Like crews would leave and then come back. And we’d still be there shooting. So, it was good. The show itself was what it was … Yeah, I wish it was a different experience on a couple of levels, but it was a wonderful, wonderful learning curve for me.

401 br bw 2

Loved you on “The Shield.”

Alex: Thank you.

And how creepy you became on that “Criminal Minds” episode.

Alex: Yeah, I’m a creepy dude.

So you weren’t acting in that one?

Alex: No, that was just me, mate.

Right. And then “Three Rivers.” What happened with that?

Alex: Well, personally I think it was political. But I thought it was a great show. I thought it had a lot of integrity; I did a lot of work for that. I spent a lot of time in Cleveland. I spent a lot of time in the OR, a foot away from actual heart transplants and open heart surgery and a lot of time shadowing Gonzo Gonzalez, the doctor that my character was based on. And the rest of the time I was in my trailer studying.

So, that was what it was. But the great thing that came from that for me is my participation with Donate Life America, for whom I’ve become an ambassador and spokesperson. And I’ve been able to raise awareness. And I wish I could do more for them, but I’ve done a little bit and it’s just any chance to give back I think is really important, especially from people like us who have a really great job and are in the public eye. That I believe is why that show happened.

417 br 1

I’ve talked to Eddie McClintock, who is in “Warehouse 13.” He has talked about how he was in so many pilots and series before finally hitting with “Warehouse 13.” He said he’ll never understand the industry and why some shows work and some don’t. Do you have that sort of feeling too?

Alex: Eddie’s a good dude and we got along really well. He did an episode of “Moonlight,” and we chatted about a bunch of stuff. And yeah, I do mate. Who knows what’s gonna happen? I just don’t know. The recipe is constantly trying to be figured out. But look, basically, if this one doesn’t go the distance, then I’m dumbfounded. I’m just going to go and learn how to build houses or something.

Alex, Sophia & Eddie

What would you do if you weren’t an actor?

Alex: I don’t know man, I am an actor. When I was a kid I did a play when I was about eight years old, and apparently I said afterwards, “I’m going to be an actor.” … So I guess I had it in the back of my mind the whole time because I really love telling stories. And taking an audience on a journey.

But if I wasn’t an actor I might be a teacher. Like I really love kids and I love watching kids learn, watching the development process of humans. … Either that or maybe a carpenter or something. I love construction because it’s still a form of creation. And I say that because I’m not talented enough to be a musician or an artist. [Laughs.]

401 br bw 3

Have you done all kinds of weapons training for “Five-0”?

Alex: Yeah, I’ve done a lot. Like I did a bunch of stuff with LAPD and the S.W.A.T. guys for “The Shield,” and I trained with the Seals in Coronado before this. So I’ve done a lot of weapons stuff. It was fun.

So if you weren’t an actor, you could be a doctor, a cop ….

Alex: I could be a heart surgeon, a cop, a vampire.

What do you think people will be surprised about in “Five-0” or about your McGarrett?

Alex: I think they’re going to be surprised at how sort of ruthless my McGarrett is. But also I think they’re going to be surprised at how thoroughly they enjoy the show on every level. Because I really do believe this show delivers character, crime and comedy in perfect balance.

417 br 2

My Thoughts (Rant)

  • Just a general thought – The person who wrote the article obviously did not know the correct way to use the word ‘SEAL’
  • Seeing Alex naked in the movies Feed and Oyster Framer, did not prevent or distract me from totally appreciating his wonderful acting abilities in both those movies. Therefore I doubt if seeing him take his kit off in Hawaii Five-0, will prevent any of us seeing what a great actor he is. (If that makes any sense?) 😛
  • If people are so blind that they can’t look past the physical beauty, why punish those who can appreciate both? And I think we have been severely punished in Season 5. In some instances it feels to me that the writers have forgotten that they have a character like Steve to write any real story for. And that they deliberately ‘underplay’ him as a hot-blooded man, who is also physically beautiful.
  • The reason he takes the job to run the task force is to help him get what he wants, which is to avenge his dad’s murder.” <<<<<< Is the fact that this was achieved, now that WoFat is dead, maybe reason that Steve’s character has become without purpose in Season 5?
  • Has sometimes out-of-character Steve, with no real purpose or someone to love, made him a dull character in Season 5? 😦
  • And is the only way that we will ever see Steve shirtless this season, just so that we could be tortured? That is severe torture to all the hot-blooded female (and some male) viewers in my eyes! 😦
  • If a production does not use ALL the talents of the actors at their disposal – it s a sin waste! 😥

feed-tummy

 

12 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett

12 responses to “Alex O’Loughlin talks ‘Five-0,’ Hawaii and going shirtless – September 2010

  1. Wow, very hotty Alex, makes me crazy haha 😆 thanks

    Like

  2. Oh I love his dry sense of humor that shows in this interview!
    And I second your ‘rant’ ;-).

    Like

  3. I have to agree with you. This season though I love it, it is missing some kind of spark. Maybe it is the personal touch. Yes, we do love to see him shirtless. He is getting older and maybe he just doesn’t feel right anymore about showing off his body. 40 is close now. Think the most spark we saw was at the beginning when Ellie showed up. Doris isn’t in it anymore, we could use some of Doris and him showing more feelings towards her. Mary needs to show herself again also and we could see him as the doting Uncle to Joannie. He and Carol Burnett play off each other wonderfully, and we all know that storyline, but maybe she could go into remission and he is overjoyed. etc. Hoping this isn’t the final season, but get the feeling it might be.

    Like

    • Just to think of one example, Brad Pitt showed a gorgeous body in ‘Troy’ at the age of 40.
      I think Alex is still in great shape. I think he will naturally be in great shape until a very old age. 😀

      Like

      • HEAR HEAR FOYeur. . Well said. Some 20 years olds should be lucky enough to look as good as our Alex does right now and tho he is and will age like a very fine wine i see no need for any of us to rush him into his 40’s after all that is still YOUNG and almost 2 years away.

        Like

  4. Sue

    They finish in the top 20 almost every week. Why would this be the final season?

    Like

  5. FOYeur Darling
    I totally agree with your assessment of Season 5 and thought it was wonderful
    Somehow Steve the MAN has become locked inside the COP and the SEAL and I think that is sad He has love and affection from his team and workmates and of course his “Bromance with Danny But no one to hold in the Quiet hours, No child or even a pet to love. He might just as well be an android brains beauty but not programmed for Love or sex {WHAT’S THAT???} No body but Danno and Amber and Kono and Adam are getting any and it had only been hinted. I would like to see more Humanity and less violence to even things out.
    Thank you for an amazing post ___I have not commented on the pictures of Alex because they are so gorgeous that they leave me INCAPABLE of speech !!!!!!

    Like

    • 🙂 He is gorgeous – and I agree about that balance that is missing. And I even stuggle to find the SEAL in him anymore – he is just a cop now. 😦

      Like

  6. I love this post because of I love shirtless Alex because he is cut beautifully and keeps himself fit. I found it interesting in the article how he says he hates straight procedurals. I think that has been posted and mentioned here before, but that is exactly what H50 is. The arcs are few and far between. If it were not for Alex, I would have bailed on this show already. Sad but true.

    As far as the show being in the top 20 every week? That may be in overall numbers but not in the ratings of the (so they say) all important 18-49 age group. Personally, I think it is a toss up. Selfishly, I want it to stay on for Alex but I also want it to be good so whatever happens I will not be surprised.

    Anyway back to the beautiful pictures, thanks as always and looking forward to what Friday nights episode is bringing. I don’t do spoilers but from the preview I know it is going to be a good one and the start of an arc. 🙂

    Like

  7. buttercup4u

    It’s exactly what makes him so frkn sexy is that he is totally not aware of what he does with his shirtless-ness to us 😉 (I mean, his body is great of course, and so is his acting!)
    But it all comes down to that he is so at ease with his body and life! So please, let us enjoy his “ease” and get the shirt off, asap!
    Thanks, FOYEUR, great interview and even greater pics!

    Like

  8. Serai

    Hm, I actually find Steve *more* interesting now that the whole daddy issue has been wrapped up. He’s more relaxed, looser, a bit more welcoming and not quite so clenched. I get the feeling he has more *attention* to give the world, now that his internal world isn’t revolving around KILL THAT MOFO AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE. Now that everything around him exists for its own sake, and not as a vehicle or weapon to achieve his goal, he can become a part of the world he inhabits, and not some Agent Of Death moving through it but not really part of it.

    Don’t know if that makes sense, but there it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

