Hawaii Five-O stars dish on the future, fatigue, and family – March 2013

 Hawaii News Now visited the set of Hawaii Five-0 on 27 March 2013, while they were shooting Episode 3:21. Specifically the scene where they captured WoFat for the 2nd time, after they shot down his helicopter.

Hawaii News Now 

Alex: I love my job. Look at where I live, you know.

Alex HNN - March 2013

Tannya: For Alex O’Loughlin, it’s a balancing act, juggling the demands of the job with the demands of being a new dad.

Alex: As soon as I go home, I forget about the business.

Tannya: Don’t believe it?

Alex: What’s that?

HNN - Alex

Tannya: You don’t believe your own hype?

Alex: I don’t even know what my own hype is.

Alex on HNN

Tannya: You have such an incredible fan base, you’re a sex symbol.  Does your family ground you? I mean that goes out the door.

Alex: Hell yeah! I walk in the door and I get handed a baby, and I’m like, “Oh”, which is what I want, but essentially like within the next 17 minutes, I’m pretty much guaranteed to be covered in either urine, feces, or both. If that doesn’t ground you, what will?

Alex - HNN

Tannya: For all the show’s success, O’Loughlin still can’t stand to watch his work.

Alex: Oh, is it sometimes cheesy? Yes. Do I get frustrated? Yes. Do I make it good? I don’t know. I try.

Tannya: With the green light for season four, we asked how long the show can go.

Alex: I signed on for 7, you know. I’ve done 3 so that’s at least another 4. And I mean, you know, I can’t see us going anywhere, can you?

Tannya: No, I hope not.

Alex --

Link to interview

My Thoughts:

  • Interesting to see the ‘unassuming dignity’ with which Alex wore that hideous wig.
  • Interesting that in later interviews, Alex talks about a 6 year contract.
  • Interesting statement that he makes about how he feels about the show: “Oh, is it sometimes cheesy? Yes. Do I get frustrated? Yes. Do I make it good? I don’t know. I try.”
  • Interesting that this is one of the few videos that I could still find available on HNN site. Many of the other Alex videos no longer exist there. 😦
7 Comments

Filed under Alex O´Loughlin, Interviews, Steve McGarrett

7 responses to “Hawaii Five-O stars dish on the future, fatigue, and family – March 2013

  1. “Interesting that this is one of the few videos that I could still find available on HNN site. Many of the other Alex videos no longer exist there.”
    Well it´s obv a tiny little island, they don´t have that much room for storage 😉

    Like

  2. The hideous wig. May it rest in peace.

    Like

  3. Nichole Sloan

    I thought he sad 7season but that would make my day end sted of 6 but we all love ❤ him every much glad he does the h5o for all his woman fans

    Like

  4. gracenotpark

    It was a cool interview…he is just cool. 🙂

    As to the hair, I had forgotten about the wig, but I was sitting here going, “what the Hell have they done to his hair…are they trying to make it look frizzy for some odd reason”?!!! 😆 😆

    Like

Leave a Reply

