The Steve McGarrett Story – No #97

We continue our story from here

There are three more episode to cover until we get to No 100. I presume the show does not take itself too seriously and so I hope they will forgive me for having some “fun” with it (or maybe making some fun of it). We’ll be doing this episode a bit differently – going to recap the story fairytale that started three and half years ago. During our count down, when we reach that period, we did not have all the details of what was happening at the time. But it’s been revealed to us over the first few episodes of this season and we saw it in the countdown the last few days. This story is not about Steve’s personal life, but it reflects upon him and will definitely affect him and his Ohana for the time to come……

BE AWARE:

This story might contain loads of #nitpicking, #sarcasm, #drama,#realism and maybe even #blackhumour.

And if you thought that the ending to this episode was one of the best ever done on Hawaii Five-0 – please don’t read further. I don’t want to spoil your fun.

Three and a half years ago, Matt Williams came to Hawaii to visit his brother Danny. But it was just a smokescreen, because he was actually on the run from the FBI. The poor guy made some mistakes with hedge funds he was administrating and lost $58 million in one day, then stole money to hide it and then he turned to criminals and by helping them to launder money, trying to get some money to cover his tracks with and replace that which he lost.

I’m not sure exactly when or how Matt got Marco’s money. Either he arrived in Hawaii with some bags full of cash (supposedly $18 500 000, that would weigh around 185 kg ), or it was handed to him while he was already on the island. But it does not really matter when and how he got it, it still would have been a bit difficult to manage anything like that, while being under surveillance of the FBI at the time. Also a bit difficult to imagine how he would be transporting cash like that on planes and through customs?

(But that’s his problem, not mine or apparently that of the writers 😀 )

Matt really had a busy time while he was on the island for 2 or 3 days.  He looked after his niece, Grace Williams for a whole day and then hang with Danny’s family and Steve for the whole evening. The next day he was also relaxing on the beach with Rachel and Grace and kept an appointment with some other Colombian drug dealers (Pedro Fuentes, accountant of the third most powerful cartel in Colombia). They negotiated that Matt would launder 10 million dollars for him via Singapore. I deal that apparently fell through – or did it?

Pedro

When Danny learns about some of Matt’s transgressions via the FBI, he confronts Matt, who realises that he will have to flee the country. He needed to find a spot to hide the money…..He somehow evaded the FBI that afternoon and found a remote spot, two hours drive from the city. Then without anybody seeing him, he dug a hole (or two) big enough to bury a number of bags in it. The most amazing thing about this, is that he must have found really magical bags that could keep the money clean, dry and save underground for the 3 ½ years since then. After that he must have taken a shower and boarded a plane in his white suit, while Danny stood helpless watching him leave…

It took Marco all this time to find Matt and try to force him to give his money back. According to him, Matt told him that the money is on Oahu and that his brother Danny knows where to get it. And over the last few days we see how Danny realises where to find the money. (And the moral of the story is, don’t throw away old postcards 😀 )

But let’s continue with our present story…….

We see Steve rushing over to Danny’s house with screeching tires, to find a distraught Danny with the money.

Just for some mindless fun: Hawaii must have the best and quickest guys, that do auto body repairs, anywhere. A perp landed on Steve’s truck that afternoon and that evening the repairs are done. (If you don’t believe me, go and watch Epi’s 503 and 504 again) They worked so quickly they forgot to replace the Chevy sign 😀

Steve's ride

Steve: Whoa. You all right?

Danny: Yah, except for the fact that Reyes said that Mattie owed him eighteen and a half million dollars. You see this, it’s only thirteen million dollars.

Steve: Are you sure?

Danny: Yes, I am positive. I counted it three times.

Steve: So Mattie must have taken some to help himself disappear.

Danny: Yeah. And now I am Five and a half million dollars short. And I have two days to come up with it all of it or my brother is dead.

I wonder what Steve was doing when Danny called 😛 , because he came rushing over and running in. Did Danny not call him as soon as he found the money. Danny had a 2 hour drive back from the remote spot and he had time to count the money 3 times, before Steve got there 😀

And I am also wondering, how sure Danny can be that he found all the money that was buried there. Maybe the rest was still under the ground around there. Realistically Matt only had that one case with him – hardly enough space for 5½ milion dollars. Did he have enough space to take that much with him?

So first thing next morning Danny rushes off to a loan shark in town. Lucky for him, the guy turns him down. #wiseguy 😀 . Think this guy must have made his calculations properly – give Danny the money and when he can’t pay it back, you can hardly go on and break his bones to get it back (because he is Five-0). And a good betting man would also not put that amount of money at risk for somebody that might not get back from visiting a Colombian drug lord. And can you think of the repercussions for the team and their work in future, if a guy like that gave Danny the money and then have a hold on him he can use against them. Not to mention that it would take Danny a lifetime (or more) to give back!

In comes Chin to the rescue……..

Chin: Listen, Steve told me about the money. I figured you’d come here first.

Danny: Ah-ha. Well he turned me down

Chin: Danny, that’s a good thing. The last thing you want in this world is to owe a man like Ko.

Danny: Right. Well, if it meant saving my brother, I’d go for it, you know.

Chin: I hear that. But there are other ways.

Danny: Really. I’m short five and a half million dollars. I really don’t see any other ways.

Chin: I may have one.

So Chin, who knows he is under IA surveillance, rushes of to see his ex brother-in-law, Gabriel, and ask him for money.  But “luckily”, Gabriel also turns him down.

I fail to see how this is any different to ask him for the money, than to ask any other criminal for money, which he warned Danny about? Does Chin really want to owe Gabriel anything?!! 😕

But just as luck might have it, someone started knocking Gabriel around in prison and he wants some protection. He offers Chin the five and a half million in exchange for moving him to a more secure facility with a private cell. And even luckier for Chin the local auto bank teller in prison carried enough cash on a Saturday and Gabriel was able to draw him the $ 5 500 000. #sarcasmgalore

And I’m wondering how much of these dealings did IA picked up on and how long will it take them to do anything (maybe another 10 episodes)? And for all his effort, I really think Chin should have asked for  a bit more – just so that the team could have enough to throw a nice Christmas party this year. Or maybe for a  nice wedding present for Kono & Adam. But that’s just me 😀 (IA won’t distinguish who it was for, so why not a bit extra?)

The Shield

And I am starting to feel like I’m watching “The Shield” and its corrupt cops. When will they cross the line and forget how to get their way back?

We must have missed the operation that happened of camera, because  somewhere along the line, highly train and decorated Navy SEAL and Task Force leader Steve McGarrett, must have had a lobotomy! That can be the only explanation for what happened next. Together with his best friend and police partner, he flies to a foreign country. With them 18,5 million dollars of illegal money. They have no back-up. They have no fire power. They have no intel of the place they will visit. They walk in to a place, without keeping back any form of insurance or leverage. And they expect to find  Matt there without  even getting any proof of life. What happened to the SEAL’s view of minimizing risk he told Chin about, three years ago?

To get there, Steve and Danny travel the 9000 km to Colombia – of course it is about a 11 hour flight (Most probably by private plane, speed boat or maybe a spaceship 😀 ) I’m not sure about rules on these private planes and how they are checked for what goes on them – but maybe immunity and means makes traveling with that kind of money possible? No nasty hassles by immigration to get it passed them I presume?

They arrive at the address in Colombia, where Reyes is (just as Danny expected) surrounded by a whole “army” of 3 men. 😀 Interesting place to be hanging around in and waiting for that minute, if and when Danny might pitch up with the money (Not very comfortable for such a high roller I would say). And if we ever wondered about it, Danny and Steve are really really very strong dudes, because between the two of them, they carry the 185kg easily. Hardly breaking a sweat (oh sorry, they did look hot and sweaty and sexy 😛 ) , but they hardly looked like they struggle to manage that 92 kg each (46 kg in each hand)

And of course, I could have told them so…… Reyes does not even bother to count the money. They could have easily arrived there without the added 5,5 million dollars Chin got them, and Reyes would have not been the wiser.

(Tip for TV crooks – If you do not want to look like an idiot counting the money, but you still want to be sure your money is all there, weigh the money. Apparently $1 000 000 weighs 10 kg. Therefore the eighteen and a half would have weighed 185 kg – That’s what I got when I Googled it, so hopefully it is accurate 😀 )

And Danny asks to see Matt. And they wheel out the barrel with what they say is the remains of Matt. And Danny reacts the opposite of what most normal people would do. Most would want confirmation, get closure and make sure it is true……… But no, he does not even try to open the barrel to see if it is really Matt’s remains in there. But then again, maybe he realised that Matt can hardly be identified in there and must have been liquidized, because that would be the only way for him to be inside that barrel. Take a closer look! This is a barrel for liquid. One without a lid! Only a small opening with which you surely would need a funnel to get anything in there and only in liquid form. But hold on………

Barrel

This week we learned that with a crowbar or pliers, it can be opened and does have a lid. And that must be the reason why Danny did not open it – he was in such a hurry to get there, he forgot to pack the crowbar.

After Danny tries to hit Marco (his go-to reaction over the past few episodes ), the men takes Steve and Danny upstairs and leave only Marco behind. The two of them overpower the “Army of 3” and throw one of the guys downstairs. Seems to me that if you are angry, one also become bulletproof, because without protection, Danny walks down the steps to challenge Marco (In my opinion most crime bosses might have been armed and could easily shoot unprotected Danny – I might have seen to many movies) At least Steve was wise enough to wait a bit to come downstairs. (What happened to going through the door first, oh brave one?) 😀

And then in an #Oscarwinningperformance (#pardonthepun #getawaywithmurder), Danny shoots Reyes……..

What then?

According to Steve  a coroner examined the body……. and I am asking myself how things could have possibly played out after Danny shot Reyes?

  • Did they call the Colombian police? And how did they explain their presence there with the illegal money that they had with them. And the dead unarmed real estate businessman lying on the table?
  • If they did not get the police there, did they maybe smuggle the barrel with the dead Matt back on a plane of to the States? (And I’m imagining how they carry that barrel upstairs, load it in a car, with all their money bags) Wracking my brain to think how they would explain that one to the guys at customs when they arrive back home? – ‘This is my fugitive brother that got killed by criminals in Colombia and we are just bringing him home……’

 My questions:

  • Why did Marco take such a long time to set his ultimatum for Danny? Why did he not just arrive and say to Danny that he’s got Matt and that Danny needs to bring him the money of Matt will die.
  • Why did Marco kill Matt before he told him where the money was? Was it an accident? What kind of dumb criminal kills his only leverage?
  • What kind of dumb policeman believes him? Sorry Danny, Steve and Chin, but somebody had to ask it! NO matter if they believed him, while they had the money and on home soil, they always had the power.
  • Without anybody asking the question, I am wondering, what did Matt die off? Was he shot? Did Marco shoot him? Maybe he was already shot /wounded when Marco found him and he couldn’t save him to ask where his money was? Maybe Marco did not even kill Matt? In Epi 413, Steve said: “Suspecting and proving murder are two very different things.”…….

 My personal opinion:

Lots of viewers, including some in my household, doubted if Matt was really dead. For me that is not good storytelling, if a crucial fact like that is not clear to viewers. I really think this story should have taken up a whole episode (and not lasted over several ones, with silly mistakes in it). And by showing some proper investigation and planning, the team could help Danny properly. They could get to the bottom of what happened to Matt and then deal in a properly planned manner, like real cops would.

I really do not like that this storyline made Danny out to be a mindless murdering criminal, who did not think twice to take his two best friends down this hole with him. I do not even want to think about the repercussion this will have for  Chin. And did he think for one minute of his daughter and what will happen to her if he dies while he went on this egotistical crusade to “save” his criminal brother? Is this really Danny?

And most of all, I do not like that they took away my image of Steve as a highly trained leader, with savvy and who would protect his people, even from themselves. What would he have told Gracie, if Danny was killed on this unplanned senseless mission? In the movie Troy, Briseis tells Achilles that she thought he was a ‘Dumb Brute’ – and this is what comes to mind when I see this Steve. He is projected here as someone without any sane training or leadership skills ……… Sorry but that is not the Steve that I have seen for the past 4 years now. He’s done some crazy stuff, but never on this level of insanity. Where is real Steve and what have you done with him?!!

😥

504 (1)

 I know I might be a bit twisted, but after this  one, I have the very nice drinking song Polka, ‘Roll out the barrel” in my head – Sorry, but I’ll have a drink now. (Maybe not from a barrel 😦 )

– Hawaii Five-0: Episode 504 –

Ka Noeʻau (The Painter)

To be continued here

30 Comments

Filed under Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett

30 responses to “The Steve McGarrett Story – No #97

  1. gracenotpark

    😆 Hee! I have taken to calling this season alt-universe 5-0, cos the out-of-character characters aren’t just from this episode. I have yet to see McG truly be our McG. And Danno has added new alters this year to his already many alternate personalities over the past several years. And of course no one has mentioned Catherine at all, so clearly in this universe, she never existed.

    I’ve always only watched for Alex, but Show is forcing me to double down on my Fangirl loyalty this season. 🙄

    Like

    • It is truly sad when there is no consistency in characters. In my opinion that is what distinguishes between a good show and the really great shows. Many of the all-time great shows, showed great character development with main characters, without taking away the characteristics that made them loveable and who they are.

      Like

  2. Oh I love this!!! Never was a fan of Danny and this episode sealed the deal for me. I’m done once and for all. Such a hypocrit. Danny is now a murderer who dragged his best friends into his mess. My question is: Why did ‘they’ felt the need to bother the viewers with this stupid storyline? And I never thought about the weight of the money! Good thinking!!!
    The best things in these episodes were the COTW. And that’s saying a lot!
    If you don’t mind, I don’t want to watch these episodes again, I pick 5.05 instead! 😉 By far the best this season. But that’s easy…

    Like

    • Somehow it feels they´ve been giving Scott the good stuff to work on, while Alex has been reduced to almost doing insignificent cop stuff. I would prefer Steve being the center of all stories, though I understand it would be too much work for Alex.
      I am still hoping it all will change with the 100th epi, and then we´ll get our bamf Steve, in full gear, back.

      Like

      • I disagree that there was any good stuff given to Scott to work on here. (Episode 306, was far better written and far better acted on his part for me)
        And I feel Alex have had enough screentime this season to satisfy my fangirl needs. And he is as always, making the best of what he’s given to do.
        In my opinion he’s been wearing just too much clothes so far. 😛

        Like

    • leiCa – I will also not easily watch this episode again.
      The storyline for me was not the bad part, but the story they made of it was just ridiculous. In my opinion a great idea, but done just to far away from reality to be good.
      I would have given it to the whole team to solve and resolve. But I know why they had to seperate it, and that is the sad part for me. 🙂

      Like

  3. Thank you! You made my day. I really liked to read this. Usually using the humor is the best way to deal with some subjects. You nailed it with all the things that bother me with the storyline and the characters at this point.

    Like

  4. You absolutely nailed it. Perfect. And in such a fun way. Way to go!

    Like

    • Thanks Sam.
      I have a lot of admiration for you, who do reviews on every episode (Although the show itself is far better to work on, than these sideline stories).
      This story left me stunned (not in a good way) and I just had to process it in a ridiculous way, just to let it go in my mind and not let it get to me.

      Like

  5. IMO I think the writers felt that they needed to tie up some loose ends but went about it the wrong way.

    First, Catherine was mentioned in the first episode (he and Danny were in the car)…Steve stated that they texted each other, Steve knows she needs to do this, blah, blah, blah. Shut the door already.

    About the money, Steve has many connections (I’m sure) from his mission days and he probably called in a few favors. Although supporting Danny like that was VERY risky. I felt that Steve’s training did play a role as far as overtaking the bad guys…and according to what I have read there will be consequences for Danny.

    Also you mentioned Chin and IA…maybe this will help Chin…did his brother-in-law sign something? I hope that Chin will be okay with this.

    You’re right this isn’t the typical Steve behavior…maybe they’re leading up to the 100th episode where he gets his mojo back. We know that Wo-Fat is the one who kidnaps him….I also noticed (going frame by frame) in the previews that there is a women donning black pants and heels in one frame…could Mamma McG be back…we know she and Wo-Fat are connected somehow. That will be interesting to see how they are connected.

    I know this is all speculation and WONDERFUL summary of the episode….I enjoy watching the show because it is an escape and I get to watch Alex. I do hope that they pull back a bit on the Ellie story a bit, let Steve have some time alone. I hope that they give Steve some closure on some issues and that the story lines become a bit more “realistic”. I hope Lenkov and the execs aren’t slowly ruining the show, hence cancellation.

    Like

  6. DeeDee

    Could not agree more with your assessment of this episode! I have to wonder sometimes if the actors themselves get the scripts and start pounding their heads against the wall. I mean, there are so many police procedurals out there that, while they’re not precisely true-to-life, at least don’t take these complete flights of fancy where all suspension of disbelief is shattered and all credibility destroyed. And as much as we were snarking it up here about the plotline (and I think you hit most of our nitpicks), I was actually full-on embarrassed to be watching when a supposed trained Navy Seal shows up, very heavy money bags in hand, and walks in with nothing else to deliver the goods, fully expecting Matt to be released to them. COME. ON. I uttered the word “lobotomy” myself — along with some choice others.

    I feel like Scott Caan is mostly checked out of this series, but occasionally they feel like they have to give him some beefy, emotionally focused episodes that hone in on Danny to keep him happy, and honestly, I usually really dislike those. But this one took the cake. The storyline was ridiculous every step of the way. I have tried to repress it completely, or think of it as an H50 spoof…

    Is it really nitpicking when the nits are the size of blimps?

    Thanks for making it all slightly less painful with the humor!

    Like

    • I like your take on the H50-spoof (or maybe it was their April-fools episode 😀 )
      I really do not like when they have to detach a storeline from the whole team. It takes away from the effect of the Danny-stories. But we know why they have to do it and that is the sad part. 😦
      And a also do not like it when they make a highly trained person into just a gun slinging Neanderthal, like they did to Steve.
      Glad I could ease your pain – it was part of my own therapy 🙂

      Like

  7. buttercup4u

    This reminds me of never throwing away any postcards i get, you never know 😉 !!!
    Thanks foyeur, this is just fabulous – brilliant – stunning! I can’t believe they fooling us like this! It just shows how i don’t get to the plot much, my eyes are secure on mcg!

    Like

  8. Colleen

    Wow such a great recap Foyeur. I never noticed most of the things you mentioned. Your roll out the barrel comment cracked me up. Lol. I’m sure you ladies know this already but I thought I would mention that Alex and Scott are going to be on The Talk this Friday.

    Like

  9. Sandra

    The show has gone the way of desperation and disbelief. When you have to depend on the shock factor for a storyline at least have one that makes sense. I have never been a fan of procedurals and H50 is no exception. I don’t blame either Alex OR Scott for the material they have given them, however. In fact, even though I am an Alex fan, I feel Scott and Alex are no longer acting. Alex said many years ago that if he played one character too long he would hate it. The writing has been poor. So many things left out there. Anyone understand what the toolbox was? Remember the envelopes with Japanese symbols on them (or something like that?) It has been so long I can’t remember but none of the things were ever explained. Heck. Someone was killed over the toolbox evidence when she passed them on to Steve in season one. Wo Fat also killed the governor. And then— nothing.The story was basically dumped.
    They have nothing left in the tank for this show. Every episode has:
    1) the interrogation room scene(s)
    2)the chase(s)
    3) the house search(s)
    4) the cargument
    5) the computer room scene(s)
    6) Hawaiian scenery
    The show is now the lowest rated show on CBS. All 4 main actors deserve more. I personally hope they can move on soon. JMO

    Like

    • Sandra I agree with some of what you said procedural show….I think what has happened is that the writers are tying up loose ends from past seasons. Although it is not in the best way they are trying. The best example is “finding out what happened to Danny’s brother” that was a story arc from season one. I hope we will know more after the 100th episode. The article says that loose ends will be tied up.

      H50 Isn’t the lowest rated show and is up for renewal. I think the “lack of acting” is more from the writers then the actors themselves.

      As far as the Japanese postcards/(Laura Hills) the woman killed, etc. was resolved. Steve was framed for Laura Hill’s murder and that of Governor Jameson. The postcards were linked to Hiro Nashimori (Adam’s dad). Steve’s dad left the toolbox (filled at the time of his death) with evidence of several cases. The tool box also held a clue, as we saw last season, as to a burial site in Cambodia. We found out that was Wo-Fat’s mom.

      I just hope that we see another season and I am looking forward to the 100th episode.

      Like

  10. Sandra

    Thanks Barb for the update on the show. As to it being the lowest rated show on CBS, it is. It survives because it got a syndication deal in season one. Its survival no longer depends on ratings but syndication. We the public do not know what CBS and TNT agreed to. Cable stations buy shows by the episode. There was an article out that stated that TNT was disappointed in H50’s and The Mentalist’s ratings on cable. They even had to lay off workers mainly from that deal. The article is in Variety.
    Whatever the syndication deal was will decide H50’s fate. Here is where it ranks on the CBS list. But like I said. Being the lowest rated CBS show does not mean it will be canceled. The syndication deal will be the deciding factor. Money from any other source (like international sales, DVD’s, etc) are never enough extra income for a show to continue. BTW: this site is award winning and neutral. Even Peter follows it on twitter. For those of you who want to learn how this side of the business works it is an excellent source of info; unbiased and well respected.
    http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/2014/11/04/cbs-predictions-the-mccarthys-is-likely-to-be-canceled/322460/

    Like

  11. Sandra

    Sorry to go off topic again. Some of you will notice that Elementary is certain to be renewed, yet it is rated almost as low as H50. That is because any drama that makes it to a third season always gets renewed no matter what because after 4 seasons they are sold into syndication, which is big money for CBS. After 4 seasons, cancellation is again possible, depending on what syndication deal is reached for a show. A show is in the most danger of cancellation in season one and after that, season two. That is because they are still far from syndication and their profits depend fully on ratings. Most rookie shows get canceled in season one. Only a few survive. They hit season 3 though, and then they can tolerate low ratings.
    Sorry if I bore some of you. But there may be some fans that are curious how American TV shows work. It is different in other countries.
    🙂

    Like

  12. There are two things I like to discuss here. One I respect your reivew and personal opinon whole heartly and your bring up good arugments , but I disagree with you 100% about the episode and I feel you pick on the wrong episode. First let me say this was one of their best episode in a very very very long time. I feel both alex and scott did a great job acting in this. I felt the storyline was just fine and I was glad to see the bromance come alive again. I love the emotions that alex and Scott showd in this episode, I am glad they are giving them a deeper dark storyline to deal with. I was wondering when somthing like this would come up. Let face it Danny brother was sort of a dirty dealer and this time, it caught up with him. Danny is the most sensiteve of the two, and I think no one us could say what we would do if a family member is brought to us in little pieces., I felt it was well done and shows what a good actor Scott is and alex.

    Lastly let me say , that I love alex very much and I love steve in this episdoe and I love how it allowd steve and danny to show the brotherly love they have for each other, I want to see more of that.
    Lasty I like to end with this, I love alex very much but I love scott to, and I feel I must defend scott. I don’t know why fans like to pick with scott, I think scott had done a wonderufl job on this show, I personal feel in the past season he has gotten some stupid dumb storylines that make danny look mean, and mad and whinny. Well I myself love that little whinner and I was glad to see a storyline to show off scott as a wonderful actor ( see the movie Mercy and you will what I am talking about ) and give steve and danny a chance to bond in ther relationship. to me the bromance of Steve and Danny is the heart and blood of this show. I have stayed with this show becaasue of both of them, not just one. thank you for your time

    Like

    • It is great that you gave your view.
      But please read it again. I did not say anything about anybody’s acting or anything bad about Scott.
      And by the way, I have seen Mercy quite a number of times and think it is a great little movie and Scott showed a lot of talent as a writer and a actor in it. I cry every time!
      BUT I still think this story was awful and that took away a lot of Danny’s innocence for me!
      For me this episode did nothing for the Danny /Steve bonding – in my eyes it only damaged it a lot!

      Like

  13. I am not the biggest fan of Steve’s. Have had a love-hate relationship with him. And really it starts with not respecting Danny as a partner. Though not the actors’ faults.
    Like he treats Grover as an equal as both partner and friend. But Danny as a friend, yes but as a partner, more like a peasant boy and servant.
    Danny has gone out of his way to rescue Steve a few times and also in a sense prevented him from getting arrested when Danny murdered Reyes.
    Despite the fact Steve was a SEAL and Doris was from the CIA to prevent that. But IMHO, Danny after murdering Reyes may have looked to see if it was really Matthew inside. That is just my two cents.
    Also Steve is the one that doesn’t respect Danny. People say otherwise. But really Danny may whine. But I prefer his whining to Steve’s controlling and overbearing ways.

    Like

    • I take it that you are kidding, otherwise you and me are watching two different shows …… 😕

      Like

    • OMG! Are you serious. You think it’s a respect issue I personally think that they didn’t understand each other at first…Danny was always ragging on him about being a SEAL and all that Steve could do. I think Danny was either intimidated or stubborn, Steve has bailed Danny out just as much if not more then Danny has bailed out Steve. Steve has had to be “tough” and most times “unfeeling” if emotions got in the way he wouldn’t have been able to do his job. Danny is more emotional (verbally) then Steve and that irks (Danny) him because he feels that everyone should express emotions. I think it has taken Danny quite a while to see that what happened to Steve in the past has made him closed off. They are definitely a ying/yang type and that is what makes them work.

      Like

  14. Well we can agree to disagree of course. Steve and Danny both have to be tough. You have to understand Steve control issues have to do with PTSD so I will give him credit over that.
    When Steve jokes with Grover and vice versa, it is that it is not mean spirited and both treat each other as friends and as colleagues with respect.
    Yes Danny can be a whiner but really wished that Peter L did not drop the storyline over PTSD as really had a great story going there. It has taken Danny quite a while indeed. As it is still ongoing.
    Hope to see them on the couch with the shrink like twice in season 5. Come a long way but have a long way to go.
    But no I am not watching two shows to be honest with you. Same show but just different opinions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

