The Steve McGarrett Story – No #91

We continue our story from here

After the team was assigned the case of a murdered pool-guy, they follow the trail of evidence and stumble upon a terrorist cell, planning on killing some soldiers. They are three students. The two young men die. One takes his own life and the other dies in a shootout with Five-0 and SWAT. The third member is caught alive. She is the girl who looked after the house where the murder of the pool guy took place. Steve met her when he questioned her earlier about the security at the house she looked after. At that time he saw her as an innocent surfing student.

Steve: Ah, so you surf and you kill people and you make bombs, huh. You’re a real renaissance woman. I don’t think you get it, Dawn. This is the major leagues, right. This is your life. Right here in this room. Right now. This is it. Okay, anything, anything else happens as a result of those explosives. Anybody else gets hurt. Anybody else dies. You gonna pay for this for the rest of your life. You understand what I am saying to you? Do you want to end this? You can end this right now. Tell me where those explosive devices are, we end this right here, right now.

Dawn: You think you scare me? You think I’m afraid? Go ahead, beat me, torture me. Do whatever you like. Because you’ll never get in my head.

When searching the house where they caught her, they find lots of material  and instructions of how to build bombs. They realise that the three students were part of a larger network.

I think it must be any soldier’s worst nightmare, when the people he swore to defend and protect, turn against him…….

Steve: I know you where not acting alone. I know you had help. I want names.

While you’re thinking about that. Why don’t you do me a favour and help me understand something. Help me understand, how somebody like you, a smart, standout highschool athlete from Seattle, born in the greatest nation on earth, turns against her own people?

Dawn: You are not my people.

Steve: Who are your people?

Steve tries his best to reason with Dawn, still believing that she can be reached with logic…….

Steve: Don’t you get it, Dawn. They found you, okay. Because they look for people like you. They look for people who are vulnerable. People who are emotionally fragile. Who have a big wound on the inside. Who are trying to get at somebody for something. And they make you feel that you’re an important part of something. A cause. A cause, bigger that you. So  big in fact, that it’s worth giving your life for.

Dawn: I am a soldier of Allah. And we must fight you as you fight us. Those of us that believe, must fight, in the cause of God.

Steve: What are you talking about? These words that are coming out of your mouth, they’re not even your words. They’re phrases that have been cherry picked from a holy book and tailored to fit the lies they’ve told you. Listen to me, all right. I get that it was rough growing up. Your mom was an alcoholic. Your old man, he was never around. I get it. How old were you when he died? You were about 8 or 9, right? I lost my old man too. I know what it’s like to lose a parent.

Dawn: I didn’t lose him. He died. Okay, he died fighting your imperialistic war against the peaceful children of Allah.

Steve: You’re wrong. Your dad was a hero, okay. He was a patriot. A soldier fighting for his country, Dawn. You got to remember him. What would he make of all this? You got  to know somewhere inside you, that this is wrong. Some shred of regret.

Dawn: My only regret is that you stopped me.

You can see the horror, hurt and confusion, these words dealt Steve. He is really trying hard to understand it.

In 2012 there was a similar bomb found, but it was never looked at and processed properly because it did not detonate. It was found after a first bomb exploded and killed four servicemen and mutilated another. After processing that bomb now, they find fingerprints on it that leads them to two terrorist who are living on the Island with their families as refugees. They arrest the two men, one at his boys sports event and the other at work.

Because they have families, they give up the detail about the planned attacks and their overseas sponsors.

Steve: The only thing I need out of you Dawn, is why? I understand why these guys hate us. From the day they were born, they’ve been bred to believe that we’re the enemy. But you? With the opportunities and the freedoms that you were born with, the life……

Dawn: You think you know me? But you know nothing about me.

Steve: I know that your dad was probably your last chance and when he died, you lost your way.

Dawn: You’re pretty proud of yourself aren’t you? Brian and Joseph are dead. You got me in a cage, wrapped up neatly in a bow. Do you think we’re the only ones? We’re not. There are many more like me. And we will never stop fighting, till every single person who walks this earth accepts Islam and all the wonders of god.

Steve: That’s never gonna happen. Not in this country anyway. Because for every one of you, there’s a thousand of me. And like you, we’ re willing to die for the cause too. And no matter what you do. No matter how hard you come at us, you’ll never change the way we think and never ever change the way we live. You wanted to sacrifice your life for the cause? Congratulations, you just did.

Steve and Danny fly to the mainland to visit Kirk Emerson, the soldier who lost his legs and one arm in the explosion in 2012.

Steve: I’m Steve McGarrett and this is Danny Williams. We’re with the Five-0 Task Force in Hawaii.

Kirk: You’re a long way away from home, man. What can help you with?

Danny: Help us? No, you’ve done enough.

Kirk: What, this? Was just doing my job man. Call it a bad day at the office.

They go on to tell him that they caught the guys who killed his friends and caused his injuries. He thanks them for coming all this way to tell him the news in person, about catching the men who planted the bomb.

Many might say that this visit at the end, was maybe too sentimental, but looking at it gets me in tears every time – it is just too real. When writing this story, I actually got the courage to look up Bryan Anderson who played Kirk, to see what happened to him in real life. Bryan was injured in 2005 in an explosion and had to ‘walk’ the very difficult path of adapting his life without three of his limbs since then.

Fact is, with better medical support on the battlefield, a lot more soldiers survive, but have to continue there lives in spite of their injuries. Bryan, with his positive outlooks seems to be very actively involved , to show support and to motivate these injured war veterans. Most of them who have lost a lot less than him……

I found these personal quotes from Bryan on IMDb:

  • I’ve had many, many people come up to me and say I’ve inspired them. I don’t see it as that big of a deal. I’m just living my life. I got hurt, I got better, and now I’m just moving on, doing what I want to do… It makes it easier that I don’t have to go to work every day.
  • I could be on prosthetics, and they could blow my legs off. – joking that he could be a stuntman
  • “I’m still me. I’m just 75 percent off. Get a great deal on Bryan Anderson this week.
  • Sometimes I’m like ‘Man, why did this have to happen to me?’ But then I’m like, ‘Well, I’m alive, you know? I am alive.’
  • It’s not always what you do, but how you do something that can define you.

This episode said a lot about what Steve McGarrett represents. It touched at the core of who he is and it leaves one with a lot to digest and think about ……..

 – Hawaii Five-0: Episode 420 –

Pe’epe’e Kanaka (Those Among Us)

To be continued here

4 Comments

Filed under Hawaii Five-0, Steve McGarrett

4 responses to “The Steve McGarrett Story – No #91

  1. buttercup4u

    So true, Foyeur, your thoughts are beautiful, it’s amazing how you always find the right words to express yourself, thanks!
    I loved the scenes in the blue room with the surfer girl! This makes me think, why do they most of the time have to bring in these special guest stars (who don’t like to come to Hawaii anyway, well, at least some of them 😉 ) when there are so many great actors, who actually live there! (well, I don’t know if the surfer girl is famous, but she really was great with Steve, so scary!)

    Like

  2. Now this was one great episode! On the one hand it was funny, presenting a senile and suicidal fish 🙂 and on the other hand it showed who Steve really is.
    I love that you pointed out this line: “They’re phrases that have been cherry picked from a holy book and tailored to fit the lies they’ve told you.” He made it clear that these radicals are not what this book is about.
    Loved the scenes at the end. They were by no means senitmental or cheesy. Just because that was/is the reality.

    Like

Leave a Reply

